Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

I just got a storm today and so far I am loving it. But I ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90

    Proud new owner of a Storm!

    Advertisement



    I just got a storm today and so far I am loving it. But I cant seem to figure out what this icon is for. Its been there since I got the phone.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    vince1's Avatar
    vince1 no está en línea Community Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    3,676
    Never seen that one before. I'm sure one of the 9530 users will be able to help.
    ~via smartphone~

  3. #3
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    Got me on the icon, but that sure is a cute baby! Congrats on the new phone

  4. #4
    Jaricanese's Avatar
    Jaricanese no está en línea Software Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    902
    I can't seem to find anything on the internet about it yet. Maybe try looking in the phone manual?

  5. #5
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    Nothing online and nothing in the manual. Tho I was just playing with the phone and it seems to have some thing to do with the GPS. Tho I cant get Google maps or blackberry maps. Pic is my son. He is 10 weeks old.

  6. #6
    Jaricanese's Avatar
    Jaricanese no está en línea Software Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    902
    Okay here we go I found out that it is related to GPS. When it has the cross hair icon with no waves, its 911 only or something like that. When the waves are present, that means Location is set to on.

    The option to edit this is located at:
    Options> Advanced Options> GPS> GPS Services to Location On

    I'm not exactly sure how to fool around with it though as I don't have a Storm sadly

  7. #7
    xtasyboi_00's Avatar
    xtasyboi_00 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM
    Posts
    1,325
    The cross hair is e911 location. If you turn it on you'd notice there is a wave or something next to that bulls eye ~via smartphone~

  8. #8
    manoffire21's Avatar
    manoffire21 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    30bd08b8
    Posts
    170
    you need to turn it on in order to use the gps or any of the different map apps like bb maps and things like that. you have the waves next to it so i would leave it on as i have found that it doesnt change how long the battery will last. hope you like your new storm!
    storm 9530
    PIN: 3051C125

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    That would be your GPS to know if your phone is location aware.

  10. #10
    aaronnieves's Avatar
    aaronnieves no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    305F72EB
    Posts
    195
    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    That would be your GPS to know if your phone is location aware.
    ^What he said
    Running 4.7.0.99

    Need flooring or pavers done in FL?
    Visit my site:
    http://www.flooringbyJMI.com

  11. #11
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    GPS is working fine. It just didnt wanna work in the house. To much metal in the roof I guess. I have done a lot of playing with the Storm the past day or so, and I think I may make the switch to the Bold. I like the Storm and its concept its just it dont really have the software to back it. Seems sluggish even with .99 software, and well I might just be to use to useing a keyboard / buttons to type.

  12. #12
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    Well I took my storm back today and got a 8900. The storm was an alright phone just doesn't have the software to back it yet. I just couldn't stand Verizon and their high data package price. So i went back to T-Mobile.

  13. #13
    Jaricanese's Avatar
    Jaricanese no está en línea Software Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    902
    Quote Originally Posted by Dabbill View Post
    Well I took my storm back today and got a 8900. The storm was an alright phone just doesn't have the software to back it yet. I just couldn't stand Verizon and their high data package price. So i went back to T-Mobile.
    You should have kept the phone and went to T-Mobile... or went to T-Mobile and gave the phone to me

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Dabbill View Post
    Well I took my storm back today and got a 8900. The storm was an alright phone just doesn't have the software to back it yet. I just couldn't stand Verizon and their high data package price. So i went back to T-Mobile.
    hi, I have the storm phone too. But it acts up sometimes. I want the 8900 also but the Tmobile store said they can't get it because of no 3g in my location. How did you get your 8900???

  15. #15
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    The 8900 doesn't support 3G. I got mine by telling the manager of the t-mobile store i wanted to upgrade to the 8900, they didn't have one at that store so he called another store and had them save the phone for me.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •