Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28

Google Maps gets a GPS lock on my 9500 so looks like a carrier issue ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #16
    vince1's Avatar
    vince1 no está en línea Community Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    3,676

    Advertisement



    Google Maps gets a GPS lock on my 9500 so looks like a carrier issue to me.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  2. #17
    flyaway's Avatar
    flyaway no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    66
    So you can use BB maps on the 9530, and it will access GPS data (not triangulation) for free? I don't want VZ nav, but I don't want the reduced accuracy of triangulation either...

  3. #18
    dean0uga's Avatar
    dean0uga no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    415
    Quote Originally Posted by flyaway View Post
    So you can use BB maps on the 9530, and it will access GPS data (not triangulation) for free? I don't want VZ nav, but I don't want the reduced accuracy of triangulation either...
    google maps released a new version that uses the GPS in the storm navigate to m.google.com and download v 3.0.2 (when running google maps, make sure location is on in advanced options!) but yes bb maps works also!

  4. #19
    Subarudude's Avatar
    Subarudude no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    PIN/ID
    who noze
    Posts
    105
    Yea I have to say, i tried using google maps yesterday in the Bronx and Manhattan, and there was no GPS fix for about 30 minutes, and even then it told me "your location within 300 meters" so...idk....seems kinda worthless next to bb maps
    Running the .132 OS with v3.5 Hybrid installed, working pretty nice!

  5. #20
    TheMercuryMan's Avatar
    TheMercuryMan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    24ADA6AB
    Posts
    98
    google maps works just fine for me on my 8900 with Tmo

  6. #21
    rpol8052's Avatar
    rpol8052 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me!
    Posts
    561
    I have GMM and BBmaps working fine and also WeatherBug, Verizon DOES NOT LOCK their devices anymore after 4.5 came out for the Curve and Pearl they stopped that. I dont even have VZ Navigator installed.

  7. #22
    flyaway's Avatar
    flyaway no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by rpol8052 View Post
    I have GMM and BBmaps working fine and also WeatherBug, Verizon DOES NOT LOCK their devices anymore after 4.5 came out for the Curve and Pearl they stopped that. I dont even have VZ Navigator installed.
    Seriously?? I think I'm going to go with a Curve instead of the Storm, so the GPS will not be locked on a Curve I buy today?

  8. #23
    supamansimon's Avatar
    supamansimon no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    304feb1f
    Posts
    257
    I have an unlocked storm with TMO and my VZ Nav works perfect just used it today..
    Shane "Swagg" Simon
    CEO/President
    Aiyam Entertainment
    "It's Got to be Bigger than Big"
    Shaneasimon@gmail.com
    Pin: 304FEB1F
    Myspace.com/xxmrmarvelousxx

  9. #24
    usmcstang's Avatar
    usmcstang no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    32aac660
    Posts
    8
    GMM Version 3.0.2 (If I remember correctly) now supports the GPS on Verizon Storms. Mine works flawlessly, and puts me to within 3 meters even inside my house.

    Subarudude, were you in between large buildings? If so, that'll cause problems with just about any GPS...not just the storms.

  10. #25
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    Quote Originally Posted by supamansimon View Post
    I have an unlocked storm with TMO and my VZ Nav works perfect just used it today..
    I am confused here. How did you get VZNav to work on T-Mobile?

    My tech has an unlocked Storm on T-Mobile and has no issues with Google or BBM using GPS.

    Zo

  11. #26
    Ajanthan's Avatar
    Ajanthan no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    31F8F87A
    Posts
    94
    Google Maps works perfectly for me on my Voda 9500 unlocked on Fido. I get a reading within 3 meters.
    PIN: 31F8F87A
    BlackBerry 8330
    V.4.5.0.163 (Platform V.3.4.0.51)

    Everyone, Please add me to BBM again! NEW phone and PIN! :)

  12. #27
    xaroc's Avatar
    xaroc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    30544A9E
    Posts
    236
    BB maps connects to GPS rather fast, But Google maps will not connect.
    i even had a lock using BB maps, sent it to the background (still running) while holding a lock, turned on Google maps, still wouldnt get a lock on Google maps, as a matter of fact, turning google maps on Killed my lock on BB maps until i closed google maps

    This is on a Telus Storm 9530 OS .109

  13. #28
    RVZfans's Avatar
    RVZfans no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2

    Storm GPS/Google Maps

    The storm will use GPS on Google Maps, both in the street and satellite views. It has fairly good reception indoors (about the same as my Garmin Rino), I can walk from one side my home to the other and it tracks me 'room to room' in the satellite pictures. When I first activated it I had to go to 1) Options 2) advanced options and 3)GPS to turn on the GPS as the default position locater.

    If the satellite signal can't reach the phone, like in a multi-story building or in tall trees it will switch back to cell tower triangulation like in the early version of Google maps. It's a great free application, thanks Google for the feature and a tip of the hat to Verizon for doing the right thing and unlocking the GPS feature.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •