Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Originally Posted by SPIRITJCC98 Newbie here, so I am not real Storm savvy just yet. ... BlackBerry Storm forum

Advertisement

Quote Originally Posted by SPIRITJCC98 View Post
    Newbie here, so I am not real Storm savvy just yet. My question is if you do a backup of the phone with DM does that bu include the OS? If so where would it be located? I have done several bu's in hopes of modifying the bb.axl file to unlock more themes but I am not finding that particular file. Just not sure I understand why I would have to download an OS from outside when I have one that works fine already on the phone that just needs a little tweaking. Thanks for your support. BTW, DM= V.4.7.0.25; 9530= V.4.7.0.75 rel. 107.
    After reading through the posts, I think you're looking for blackberry.alx with the purpose of unlocking the "hidden" vendor themes? In order to do that, yes your OS needs to be installed on your computer. Also, in order to find and edit blackberry.alx you need to be using Desktop Manager 4.3 or older. (I might be wrong, but the directory structure is different on newer DMs and I can't seem to find the OS files . . .). After the older version of DM is installed, and your OS is installed, blackberry.alx can be found in the path "C:\program files\common files\research in motion\shared\loader files\ and then the final directory is your OS name. Blackberry.alx is simply a text file that is a list of instructions to Desktop Manager's Application Loader telling it what to load and not load as it is installing the OS on your device. For example, blackberry alx will have an instruction that says "If the device is a color screen 8700 with java enabled and a QWERTY keyboard and is a T-Mobile device, then load such-and-such."
    Following is an actual snip from a OS 4.5 blackberry.alx:

"<fileset Colour="True" series="8700" Java="1.0" _vendorID="109">
    <files>
    net_rim_theme_109_zen_320x240_w.cod
    </files>
    </fileset>"