Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Newbie here, so I am not real Storm savvy just yet. My question is if ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    SPIRITJCC98's Avatar
    SPIRITJCC98 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5

    Question Modifying the OS off the Phone

    Advertisement



    Newbie here, so I am not real Storm savvy just yet. My question is if you do a backup of the phone with DM does that bu include the OS? If so where would it be located? I have done several bu's in hopes of modifying the bb.axl file to unlock more themes but I am not finding that particular file. Just not sure I understand why I would have to download an OS from outside when I have one that works fine already on the phone that just needs a little tweaking. Thanks for your support. BTW, DM= V.4.7.0.25; 9530= V.4.7.0.75 rel. 107.
    Last edited by RogerG; 03-26-2009 at 04:57 PM. Reason: Format editing

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Welcome to PinStack, spirit!

    No, the backup does not back up the OS itself.

    If you are attempting to add themes, applications, etc through DM, that requires you have your current version of the OS on your PC.
    Last edited by RogerG; 03-26-2009 at 04:58 PM.

  3. #3
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Welcome to PinStack, spirit!

    No, the backup does not back up the OS itself.

    If you are attempting to add themes, applications, etc through DM, that requires you have your current version of the OS on your PC.
    i have to not agree with you, i allways unintall my current os from the pc, and i havent had problems installing themes, aplications or whatever using the DM
    i agree about the back up
    When i say i have Bold family phones, I meant it, from the older to the younger, even the unborn ;)

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Okay, I'll change that to say that in some cases the OS is required on your PC. Better?

  5. #5
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Okay, I'll change that to say that in some cases the OS is required on your PC. Better?
    lol. yeah better
    When i say i have Bold family phones, I meant it, from the older to the younger, even the unborn ;)

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Actually I believe you guys are both correct....it appears that the 4.6 devices do not require the OS to be installed on the PC. I discovered this when I started using the 8220 Flip.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Ah HA! Thanks for that, Gary. Did not know that. I had always thought the OS was required.

  8. #8
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    i have never left the os on my pc since my 8700 runing that official tmo os, 4.2 xxxxx, and no problems, my 8310 is running 4.5 and no os on the pc too,
    using DM 4.6 if that make a difference
    When i say i have Bold family phones, I meant it, from the older to the younger, even the unborn ;)

  9. #9
    SPIRITJCC98's Avatar
    SPIRITJCC98 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5
    So can u mod the bb.axl file on the phone through windows explorer or some app. like that?

  10. #10
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    what exactly are you trying to modify?
    When i say i have Bold family phones, I meant it, from the older to the younger, even the unborn ;)

  11. #11
    SPIRITJCC98's Avatar
    SPIRITJCC98 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5
    The bb.axl file.

  12. #12
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    what device do you have ? that can help to give you the right directions
    When i say i have Bold family phones, I meant it, from the older to the younger, even the unborn ;)

  13. #13
    SPIRITJCC98's Avatar
    SPIRITJCC98 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5
    Storm 9530.

  14. #14
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Unless the file is located on your PC, there is no way I know of to modify it. What is it that you need to modify?

  15. #15
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Unless the file is located on your PC, there is no way I know of to modify it. What is it that you need to modify?
    Yeah that's right
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •