Results 1 to 10 of 10

so to state the obvious we all know gps at this time does not work ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    clayatx's Avatar
    clayatx no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    74

    just noticed something with google maps and gps

    Advertisement



    so to state the obvious we all know gps at this time does not work with google maps. but i found something worth mentioning, first exit out of google maps so that it must reload upon the next time you open it. go to your options then gps and change location from "E911 only" to "location on" (my other settings read device gps and location aiding enabled). now go back to google maps, and check out your location.

    the change for me was "your location within 1000 meters"

    to

    "your location within 1000 meters. gps location temporarily unavailable"




    thoughts?

  2. #2
    woodi68's Avatar
    woodi68 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    woodi68
    Posts
    660
    Same here. Noticed that on the first day I had it. Since GPS works on BB Maps, I had it turned on since the beginning.


  3. #3
    VR's Avatar
    VR
    VR no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    215
    when you press the locate button, it will say you are within so many meters of such and such, then it will also say Waiting on GPS. once that fails it will state what you just posted
    My blackberry is anti-Obama Bin Llama

  4. #4
    clayatx's Avatar
    clayatx no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    74
    guess i never played with the location on and google maps before, i did it with everything else. meh.

  5. #5
    goldengirl75's Avatar
    goldengirl75 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,895
    Now my icon on the homescreen changed under 1XEV with the circle and three ))). I know someone else asked about it, but I'm not sure if that's with GPS or not. Does anyone know?

  6. #6
    woodi68's Avatar
    woodi68 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    woodi68
    Posts
    660
    Just means "Location Based" is turned on, as opposed to E911. It used to do the same thing on my 8830 (even though the GPS wouldn't work on the 8830, it would still change the icon). Basically, it just tells you which option you have turned on. Not whether or not it works.

  7. #7
    VR's Avatar
    VR
    VR no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    215
    that means location based services are turned on, doesnt mean gps is running, just means if the program requests gps signal, it is ready
    My blackberry is anti-Obama Bin Llama

  8. #8
    goldengirl75's Avatar
    goldengirl75 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,895
    Okay, thanks!

  9. #9
    bglawrence's Avatar
    bglawrence no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2746CB17
    Posts
    312
    Called Verizon and they said you can use Maps if you dont order VZNavigator... especially if you are on the world plan since Navigator does not work outside of USA

  10. #10
    woodi68's Avatar
    woodi68 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    woodi68
    Posts
    660
    Yes... "Maps", meaning BlackBerry maps, not Google Maps.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •