Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 185

So what happens with an unlocked Storm if a prepaid SIM from T-Mobile or AT&T ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #31
    phone_caller's Avatar
    phone_caller no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    PIN/ID
    23FED8B7
    Posts
    46

    Advertisement



    So what happens with an unlocked Storm if a prepaid SIM from T-Mobile or AT&T is put in and the GSM is selected? Would I be able to toggle back and forth to use CDMA and GSM?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Quote Originally Posted by phone_caller View Post
    So what happens with an unlocked Storm if a prepaid SIM from T-Mobile or AT&T is put in and the GSM is selected? Would I be able to toggle back and forth to use CDMA and GSM?
    Yes you would. But you cant have both running at the same time.
    Like im using my storm on Rogers right now but i could go and get it activated on Verizon if i wanted to.

  3. #33
    digdoug's Avatar
    digdoug no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    PIN/ID
    31D73DE7
    Posts
    66
    You all are genuises. I am friggin lost.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Quote Originally Posted by digdoug View Post
    You all are genuises. I am friggin lost.
    We all learnt from here and still learn everyday

  5. #35
    bbslice's Avatar
    bbslice no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2437ACFE
    Posts
    146
    works perfect thanks alot
    i'm addicted.

  6. #36
    yeahno's Avatar
    yeahno no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3

    GSM-only variant

    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    Correct as the Storm does not have the NAM 3G frequency built in. Verizon KNEW that people would unlock it for ATT and TMO and it is probably the reason why.
    Now having said that i am going to contradict myself as the Vodafone one doesnt have it either yet, why would you not put it in so when UK people roam in the US or Canada they can have 3G.
    I think and i am almost sure that RIM has a NAM 3G GSM version coming ... i also remember reading a FCC thing about it.

    I'm thinking about buying one of the GSM-Only Variants that you can find on the internet.....but will these work on the AT&T 3G network? I've read all the product specifications on the merchants websites that are selling them, but none of them specifically state "NAM." Does any one know if this is the version that AT&T will eventually release?

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Quote Originally Posted by yeahno View Post
    I'm thinking about buying one of the GSM-Only Variants that you can find on the internet.....but will these work on the AT&T 3G network? I've read all the product specifications on the merchants websites that are selling them, but none of them specifically state "NAM." Does any one know if this is the version that AT&T will eventually release?
    NONE of the currently released storms will work on ATT 3G or any NAM 3G for that matter.
    The one you wanna wait for is the Rogers Storm 9520 with NAM 3G and WiFi.

  8. #38
    rechlit's Avatar
    rechlit no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1

    Question How-To Make a Storm Work on Vodafon run on o2

    Hi!

    I´m from germany and I´m searching a sevice book for my BbStorm 9500. It has a branding from vodafon germany and i want to run o2, with personal eMail connections.

    Can you help me? Please!


    Best greetings from paderborn / germany
    U. R.

  9. #39
    yeahno's Avatar
    yeahno no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    NONE of the currently released storms will work on ATT 3G or any NAM 3G for that matter.
    The one you wanna wait for is the Rogers Storm 9520 with NAM 3G and WiFi.

    Thanks, I'll keep my eye out for that. In the meantime I'm waiting for my 8310 warranty replacement. I was gonna just sell it and buy the storm, but I guess I'll just have to wait longer. Merry X-Mas!

  10. #40
    xattica's Avatar
    xattica no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    GA
    Posts
    339
    This is just for the 9500 or also works on 9530?
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806

  12. #42
    mafialink's Avatar
    mafialink no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    So i followed all these steps and got up to the part where i need to move the att services books from the left to right in DM. However after i open the serivces books and its to the left, they are grayed out and it will not allow me to move them to the right. I highlight them but the right arrow is still grayed. Any help.

    thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by KaraBear View Post
    This is considering you already have the device unlocked and have an AT&T SIM card that has a BlackBerry Plan.



    Ok, first download the attached file. It's generic AT&T service books.

    Then on your computer go to C:\ProgramFiles\CommonFiles\ResearchInMotion\Share d\LoaderFiles\OS version\Java. Select File>create new folder and name is ATT. Then find the .cod named net_rim_bb_browser_dameon and click and drag the module into the new folder you just made.

    Put in the AT&T sim card>plug in device>open DM>Apploader>Add/remove programs and step your way through. It will then remove the net_rim_bb_browser_dameon module.

    Now Open the Dm again>Backup/restore>Advanced. On the right will be the Storms info and service books, etc. On the box to the left select file>open and select the file you downloaded. Once it's in the box on the left, click once to highlight, then click the bottom arrow(which moves what's in the left box to the right). Then go back to main menu of DM.

    Go back to C:\ProgramFiles\CommonFiles\ResearchInMotion\Share d\Loader\OS version\Java and go into the folder you created named ATT. Right click the module>Cut>Go back to main Java folder and paste it back.

    Exit out. Plug in device>Open DM>apploader>add/remove> and step your way through. You will see net_rim_bb_browser_dameon.cod file being replaced.

    Now go to AT&T BIS Page log in and resend your service books. Then on your Storm go to Option>Advanced Options>TCP APN should say APN: wap.cingular Username:WAP@CINGULARGPS.COM Password: CINGULAR1




    Sorry I didn't include screen shots. But this will get what you want. The Storm will not work on AT&T's 3G network.

    Thanks to Pltaylor for the service books.

  13. #43
    olsonb1's Avatar
    olsonb1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1

    3G Storm

    It has been rumored on several post that RIM will be releasing the 9520 version of storm for rogers. This version will be 3G capable. So unlocked, it should work with ATT on 3G.

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Is that a question ? If so yeah the Unlocked 9520 WILL work with ATT's 3G .

  15. #45
    manoffire21's Avatar
    manoffire21 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    30bd08b8
    Posts
    170
    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    Is that a question ? If so yeah the Unlocked 9520 WILL work with ATT's 3G .
    ok well now i have a question...when is this new storm going to come out?? also i currently own a bold through att. is it worth getting a storm? is the storm better than the bold? i know this may not be the place for it but i was wondering is verizon worth switching to from att or no? if ya dont wanna answer that question since its off topic thats cool just thought i would ask while i was here.

    thanks

    Pat
    storm 9530
    PIN: 3051C125

Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •