Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Hey guys, I know alot of you have been having problems with Desktop Manager not ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    andrew.peron's Avatar
    andrew.peron no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    3029AA4B
    Posts
    39

    Thumbs up HOW TO: Fix prolems with DM not installing new OS's!

    Advertisement



    Hey guys,
    I know alot of you have been having problems with Desktop Manager not installing new OS releases to your device, even after deleting the vendor.xml. Luckily, I think I have found an easy workaround that doesn't involve unplugging your internet connection, or any of the other ideas being thrown around.
    This is how it worked for me:

    1) Install your new OS into windows, and delete the vendor.xml

    2) Open DM, go to add/update applications.

    3) Go through update, and if you have the problem I do, DM will recognize the OS update, but when you put the check next to it and hit next, it will tell you there are no updates for your device. We can fix this!

    4) Close DM, open Task Manager

    5) Make sure the DM executable has stopped running. Find "RIMAutoUpdate.exe" and END the process. This is the daemon that checks the internet for software updates, and this is what most people think is causing the DM issues.

    6) Unplug your Blackberry, reopen DM, plug it back in, and try again. It should work now!



    This has worked for me the last 2 software updates I've done on my Storm, using DM 4.7. It would obviously be very helpful if others could try it and confirm it works for them too.

    I hope this helps!

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Thanks Andrew. I posted a link to this thread for a stacker having a problem with updates. Perhaps it will help him (or her).
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    ~via 8120 (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I'll try this next time I upgrade my OS.

  4. #4
    andrew.peron's Avatar
    andrew.peron no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    3029AA4B
    Posts
    39
    Thanks guys,
    also I've seen reports of people having success running the "Loader.exe" application without using desktop manager at all.
    This is in C:/Program Files/Common Files/Research In Motion/AppLoader/Loader.exe

  5. #5
    dean0uga's Avatar
    dean0uga no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    415
    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.peron View Post
    Thanks guys,
    also I've seen reports of people having success running the "Loader.exe" application without using desktop manager at all.
    This is in C:/Program Files/Common Files/Research In Motion/AppLoader/Loader.exe
    yep, this works like a charm... delete the vendor.xml and just open the Loader.exe in that same folder, very easy; I use it everytime

  6. #6
    andrew.peron's Avatar
    andrew.peron no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    3029AA4B
    Posts
    39
    Good to know, and maybe it's just me, but it seems like doing OS updates using just Loader.exe is MUCH faster than doing them through DM. But that may just be placebo effect at work.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Or you can also just disconnect your internet connexion as youre doing the upgrade .
    Thats what i do because i dont like touching my computer when my BB is upgrading. I like controlling the odds lol.

  8. #8
    andrew.peron's Avatar
    andrew.peron no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    3029AA4B
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    Or you can also just disconnect your internet connexion as youre doing the upgrade .
    Thats what i do because i dont like touching my computer when my BB is upgrading. I like controlling the odds lol.
    Haha I know what you mean!

    Am I the only person who sits and watches it through the whole loading operation? Like, I literally sit there, and watch the progress bar, and the phone reboot, and the database restore, all of it. Almost like if I watch it nothing will go wrong... I don't know why I do it really, haha.

    Anyone else?

  9. #9
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.peron View Post
    Haha I know what you mean!

    Am I the only person who sits and watches it through the whole loading operation? Like, I literally sit there, and watch the progress bar, and the phone reboot, and the database restore, all of it. Almost like if I watch it nothing will go wrong... I don't know why I do it really, haha.

    Anyone else?
    You are not alone. I have never had an upgrade issue but still always sit there and watch the whole process. My wife thinks I'm NUTS!!

  10. #10
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    Thanks this will come in handy for when my cousin comes over! In case I run into this problem.
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro2 & I'm not coming back! :D

    --HeavyC.

  11. #11
    andrew.peron's Avatar
    andrew.peron no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    3029AA4B
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    You are not alone. I have never had an upgrade issue but still always sit there and watch the whole process. My wife thinks I'm NUTS!!
    Hell, I think it's nuts! But I can't even get up and go get a drink from the kitchen without scurrying back, terrified that while I was gone my blackberry decided to go crazy and corrupt the install process or something. It's madness, but I can't stop. I'm paranoid that something bad will happen, even though nothing ever has.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.peron View Post
    Hell, I think it's nuts! But I can't even get up and go get a drink from the kitchen without scurrying back, terrified that while I was gone my blackberry decided to go crazy and corrupt the install process or something. It's madness, but I can't stop. I'm paranoid that something bad will happen, even though nothing ever has.
    throw me in that team of yours lol. Im paranoid but then again i KNOW that if something screws up i can fix it :P. Just always make daily backups ! Advice of the daY

  13. #13
    andrew.peron's Avatar
    andrew.peron no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    3029AA4B
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    throw me in that team of yours lol. Im paranoid but then again i KNOW that if something screws up i can fix it :P. Just always make daily backups ! Advice of the daY
    daily backups?! now THAT is dedication, sir.
    i do about once a week.
    not much changes from week to week that I don't have another copy of, like email, besides text messages, which aren't that big of a deal anyways.

  14. #14
    WiseGuy's Avatar
    WiseGuy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    30490E4B
    Posts
    54
    you could also just double click on the loader.exe file after you install the OS to your computer and delete the vendor.xml file. you dont even need the DM.
    david

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    I think most people are having issues with loading software due to the fact that most are trying with DM 4.7. You need to use DM 4.6 in order to do so.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •