Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

For some odd but great reason, GPS IS WORKING on my Storm within the Blackberry ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    GaBulldog's Avatar
    GaBulldog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    145

    GPS Working!!!

    Advertisement



    For some odd but great reason, GPS IS WORKING on my Storm within the Blackberry Maps application. It gives me turn by turn directions & shows my speed! I'm not using VZNavigator nor is it loaded to my phone. I also called Verizon CS & they confirmed that VZNavigator is not on my account.

    Anyone else tried their BBMaps to see if GPS is/is not working?

  2. #2
    fjl307's Avatar
    fjl307 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    34
    maybe the verizon pricks will choose to be sincere to the rest of us

  3. #3
    dparks69's Avatar
    dparks69 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    305f78fc
    Posts
    47
    yeah mine works with bb maps too, it doesnt work with google maps though i dont believe, at least that is what ive been reading so far.

  4. #4
    laxmetal23's Avatar
    laxmetal23 no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    30B63ACF
    Posts
    118
    yea bbmaps works but google maps doesnt but bb mpas is good enough for free lol
    Matt Urenovich
    E-Mail:MUrenovich@vzw.blackberry.net
    Pin:3048D85A
    Verizon Wireless Blackberry Storm 9530

  5. #5
    GaBulldog's Avatar
    GaBulldog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    145
    Very strange though; won't work with any other application. Good enough for me too.

    Going to Options>Advanced Options>GPS:
    GPS Data Source = Device GPS
    GPS Services = Location On
    Locations Aiding = Enabled

    Does anyone else show these settings too?

  6. #6
    rrife's Avatar
    rrife no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    28
    Verizon said that GPS will work in BBMaps and A-GPS works with VZNavigator. Nothing else can access the GPS hardware.

  7. #7
    rmerck's Avatar
    rmerck no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    188
    BB Maps has been viewed by VZW as an approved application. As states, Google Maps will continue to function with the triangulation system.

    Sucks, but not paying for BB Maps is better than paying for VZ Navigator.
    "He that hath no sword, let him sell his garment and buy one."
    Jesus, Luke 22:36

    "The deadliest weapon in the world is a Marine and his rifle."
    Gen. John Pershing, U.S. Army

  8. #8
    GaBulldog's Avatar
    GaBulldog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    145
    Quote Originally Posted by rmerck View Post
    BB Maps has been viewed by VZW as an approved application. As states, Google Maps will continue to function with the triangulation system.

    Sucks, but not paying for BB Maps is better than paying for VZ Navigator.
    Very True!!!

  9. #9
    skelzer's Avatar
    skelzer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    178
    so they gave us BBMaps.
    whoopdeedoo.

    when will they realize that there are MANY other ingenius uses for GPS other than simple mapping???

    free VZW GPS!

  10. #10
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    i used bbmaps last night,,,saw the speed and location but didn't see any option for turn by turn. so they are there though?
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  11. #11
    fox581's Avatar
    fox581 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    68
    It doesent seem to work for pearl I turned on the GPS is it only for the storm

  12. #12
    GaBulldog's Avatar
    GaBulldog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    145
    Catstide:

    Yes, once you click on "Get Directions" & fill-in the desired locations, click on "Start GPS Navigation" & off you go. Hope this works for you.

  13. #13
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    Quote Originally Posted by GaBulldog View Post
    Catstide:

    Yes, once you click on "Get Directions" & fill-in the desired locations, click on "Start GPS Navigation" & off you go. Hope this works for you.
    sweet
    i have the 1 month free vznav now but will cancel after the month. great to know!
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  14. #14
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    VZNav is a resource hog, delete it as soon as possible.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  15. #15
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    Quote Originally Posted by j llama View Post
    VZNav is a resource hog, delete it as soon as possible.
    that might be causing my memory drain
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •