Results 1 to 13 of 13

So what is the deal with the GPS on the storm? They do have GPS ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    brettxw's Avatar
    brettxw no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    504

    GPS on the storm

    Advertisement



    So what is the deal with the GPS on the storm? They do have GPS so why doesnt it work? Google maps should def pick up the GPS, right? and BB maps?

  2. #2
    caustic's Avatar
    caustic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    164
    Yes you are correct that the Storm does have GPS, but Verizon has locked out the functionality of it towards 3rd party apps. In other words, GPS works great with VZW Navigator service, but will not work with any other third party GPS apps such as Google Maps.
    Not by my liking but it goes hand in hand with the same reasoning as to why VZW blackberry's do not support the Wi-Fi feature that other carriers BB's do.
    Thay want to market and push their own services.
    I myself would prefer Wi-Fi over GPS any day of the week.... :-(

    C.
    "Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."

  3. #3
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    the storm does have gps and does work with some 3rd party apps. not sure why it's not working with google maps.
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  4. #4
    brettxw's Avatar
    brettxw no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    504
    Does anyone use VZW? is it worth it?

  5. #5
    simonintx's Avatar
    simonintx no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    60
    Which 3rd party apps does the gps work with?

  6. #6
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    Quote Originally Posted by brettxw View Post
    Does anyone use VZW? is it worth it?
    works very well. if you use it regularly i would say get t. i don't use it enough to warrant the 10 extra bucks a month.

    Quote Originally Posted by simonintx View Post
    Which 3rd party apps does the gps work with?
    bb maps,telnav,garmin,weatherbug...
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  7. #7
    brettxw's Avatar
    brettxw no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    504
    Quote Originally Posted by catstide View Post
    works very well. if you use it regularly i would say get t. i don't use it enough to warrant the 10 extra bucks a month.


    I always spend money on stupid things. I'll add this to list. ha

  8. #8
    williamsj83's Avatar
    williamsj83 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    305845BF
    Posts
    242
    My storm is working using Google Maps...... i cant wait for TellMe to become available for the Storm...

  9. #9
    jayfreeman's Avatar
    jayfreeman no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    124
    Gpsed and amazegps but I am vodafone uk user~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    dashnu's Avatar
    dashnu no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    26
    From my understanding vz does not lock out the GPS. Google has said in mail lists its a bug.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    TeleNav and Garmin work perfectly. VZNav is junk in my opinion as its a resourse hog.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  12. #12
    JjcampNR's Avatar
    JjcampNR no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    121
    Trapster works with the VZW Storm's internal GPS as well. It's not locked, Google just needs to update their code: http://www.google.com/support/forum/...9c2c3dac&hl=en
    Last edited by JjcampNR; 01-03-2009 at 03:13 AM.
    Device: 8100c / Apps: 4.5.0.69 / Platform: 2.7.0.72

  13. #13
    sartwell's Avatar
    sartwell no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    18
    I just bought Garmin mobile for my storm, and it seems to be working great with the storms internal gps.
    I don't have a cell phone, I have a BlackBerry !

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •