Results 1 to 13 of 13

I get an "error backing up database(s)" when i try to backup my storm. It ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    marlon3's Avatar
    marlon3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18

    Error when trying to backup my storm

    Advertisement



    I get an "error backing up database(s)" when i try to backup my storm. It seems to stop at the point when it tries to backup "Map Locations"? Anyone else have this issue?


    Sorry if there is already an answer for this. I tried searching for "backup error" .

    thank you in advance for you help.

    Note:
    other than that, i'm loving my storm!!!

  2. #2
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    I saw someone over at another forum having this issue. You looking to do the DTM upgrade? The DTM auto backs up the device to just run with it. We usually back up just in case but it's not needed.
    Device history: 8100 > 8320 > 8900 & 9530. Keep crackin'

  3. #3
    Roosta's Avatar
    Roosta no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    78
    I got the same error message as well. I just did the os upgrade n my phone is slower than ever! Here's to hoping it picks up.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    Roosta's Avatar
    Roosta no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    78
    I figured out a fix. There it was posted to clear the cache in the browser and then run the backup. I opted to clean the memory like this:

    Go to options > security options > memory cleaning ? menu key > clean now.

    Then run the backup tool in DM and that should do the trick. It worked for me!

    Good luck folks!
    Last edited by doughdaddy; 12-02-2008 at 06:36 PM.
    Peace...Love...Solidarity In Struggle

  5. #5
    marlon3's Avatar
    marlon3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18
    tried memory cleaning. backup still gets hung when it reaches " Map Location" thanks for the info about memory cleaning though, i didn't know it existed.

  6. #6
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Have you tried going into back up / restore advanced and skipping the maps part of backup?

  7. #7
    hazzmatte's Avatar
    hazzmatte no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    67
    Having the same problem. Unknown error when it reached BT settings. Anyway, I tried clearing the cashe and memory but still nothing!

    Any sugesstions would be appreciated

  8. #8
    marlon3's Avatar
    marlon3 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18
    updated to official vz .75 today and i'm able to backup with no errors now..

  9. #9
    Schufly's Avatar
    Schufly no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    471
    Mine does this too. Go into browser options on the Storm and delete your cookies and cache. options>cache opperations. clear everything in there. That will work.
    Andy

  10. #10
    wars's Avatar
    wars no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1
    Thanks alot, worked great, had the same problem backing up my bold!

  11. #11
    Mdeghym's Avatar
    Mdeghym no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    306811da
    Posts
    200
    Just happened to me this morning I'll have to give a shot when I get home. I ended up deleting maps and weather bug because of it.
    The soul of the Nietzscheans is this:
    We are arrogant. We are vain.
    We are manipulative. We are selfish.
    And we love our children.

    -- Drago Musevini, "Primary Reflections", CY 8428

  12. #12
    Mdeghym's Avatar
    Mdeghym no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    306811da
    Posts
    200
    tried it all none of it worked.
    The soul of the Nietzscheans is this:
    We are arrogant. We are vain.
    We are manipulative. We are selfish.
    And we love our children.

    -- Drago Musevini, "Primary Reflections", CY 8428

  13. #13
    jeffery's Avatar
    jeffery no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    46
    I am having a Bold, and the backup stops at unknown error when it reaches Code Module group properties...appreciate any help to enable my backup to continue.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •