Results 1 to 8 of 8

How do I stop my DM from wanting to reload update software for my storm? ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    munchkinsdad's Avatar
    munchkinsdad no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    304957E1
    Posts
    11

    DM wants to reload update every session!

    Advertisement



    How do I stop my DM from wanting to reload update software for my storm? I cant figure it out... Thanks!

  2. #2
    BES Noob's Avatar
    BES Noob no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    3,695
    do an add/remove on the software from your control panel and that will go away.

  3. #3
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    No need to remove software, go into options and uncheck the box that says something about checking for upgrades when the phones plugged in.
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  4. #4
    dashnu's Avatar
    dashnu no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    26
    This is clearly a bug, I was able to get this to stop by installing the OS twice in a row. After that I removed an app with app manager and walla, OS want to reinstall again. I also tried from a fresh 'wipe' with same results.

  5. #5
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    Quote Originally Posted by dashnu View Post
    This is clearly a bug, I was able to get this to stop by installing the OS twice in a row. After that I removed an app with app manager and walla, OS want to reinstall again. I also tried from a fresh 'wipe' with same results.

    Again--did you set the options in the DM to not prompt for an update??
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  6. #6
    jephs422's Avatar
    jephs422 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    3048546E
    Posts
    16
    Mine is set to update every time, and I was getting a prompt to update mine every time also. I have .75 installed, and after it would tell me to update, it would say no update necessary??? then out of no where, this morning, it didn't prompt me.

  7. #7
    BES Noob's Avatar
    BES Noob no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    just ask
    Posts
    3,695
    Quote Originally Posted by ItsNowOrNever View Post
    Again--did you set the options in the DM to not prompt for an update??
    I don't seem to find that option on my DM. It must be because I'm still running on 4.3 version DM.

  8. #8
    KaraBear's Avatar
    KaraBear no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    294
    1. Go to Control Panel >Add/Remove Programs.
    2. Click on "BlackBerry Desktop Software" and select "Change/Remove."
    3. When prompted, hit "Next" and then you should get options for Modify, Repair, or Remove. Choose "Modify."
    4. On DM 4.7 and higher, in the list of installed items, you should see "BlackBerry Automatic Update." Click the icon next to it and change it to "This feature will not be available." That should put an "X" next to "BlackBerry Automatic Update." If you are using DM 4.6 or lower and don't see this option in this list then just continue with the install and the installation will ask you a few screens later. A screen will be shown where you will be asked to check the boxes for:

    A) "Start BlackBerry Desktop Manager automatically each time the computer starts."
    B) "Create a shortcut for BlackBerry Desktop Manager on the Windows Desktop."
    C) "Check for software updates."

    Be sure number 3, "Check for software updates," is NOT checked.

    and then "Finish" the installation.
    Last edited by KaraBear; 12-05-2008 at 12:38 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •