Results 1 to 12 of 12

On the 8320 I can use it as a modem, can I do the same ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    brettxw's Avatar
    brettxw no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    504

    Can you tether the Storm?

    Advertisement



    On the 8320 I can use it as a modem, can I do the same with my storm?

  2. #2
    Crucial's Avatar
    Crucial no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    43
    Yes you can. But Verizon charges extra and it must be added to your account for that ability.

  3. #3
    brettxw's Avatar
    brettxw no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    504
    Quote Originally Posted by Crucial View Post
    Yes you can. But Verizon charges extra and it must be added to your account for that ability.
    Oh thats gay! What is the added extra you need on the account?

  4. #4
    Crucial's Avatar
    Crucial no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by brettxw View Post
    Oh thats gay! What is the added extra you need on the account?
    I'm not really sure. I don't use Verizon. Call CS and ask them.

  5. #5
    brettxw's Avatar
    brettxw no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    504
    They say you can't tether the storm....

  6. #6
    Crucial's Avatar
    Crucial no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    43
    That's false. To tether you have to download vz access manager and then pay Verizon $15 for BES users and $30 a month

  7. #7
    brettxw's Avatar
    brettxw no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    504
    Quote Originally Posted by Crucial View Post
    That's false. To tether you have to download vz access manager and then pay Verizon $15 a month
    Goes to show you how dumb VZW CS is. They told me they are looking off of the VZW website and it does not list the storm as a device to tether. VZW seriously has the dumbest CS out of all the phone companies!!

  8. #8
    Crucial's Avatar
    Crucial no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by brettxw View Post
    Goes to show you how dumb VZW CS is. They told me they are looking off of the VZW website and it does not list the storm as a device to tether. VZW seriously has the dumbest CS out of all the phone companies!!

    LOL. Yeah, some aren't so knowledgeable. But yes it's definitely possible, and tons of people are doing it. For BIS users it's $29.99 a month, and theres a 5GB limit a month. If you go over they charge you extra. I'd call back, I'm sure you'll get someone else who knows what they're talking about.

  9. #9
    brettxw's Avatar
    brettxw no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    504
    Quote Originally Posted by Crucial View Post
    LOL. Yeah, some aren't so knowledgeable. But yes it's definitely possible, and tons of people are doing it. For BIS users it's $29.99 a month, and theres a 5GB limit a month. If you go over they charge you extra. I'd call back, I'm sure you'll get someone else who knows what they're talking about.
    Def will. Thank you for the help.

  10. #10
    Crucial's Avatar
    Crucial no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    43
    NP. Anytime.

  11. #11
    razzorblade's Avatar
    razzorblade no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6
    Crucial is right. I am using the Storm and would have been able to use it as a tethered modem this morning when I realized i had forgotten my wireless card however I also forgot that verizon charges you to do this and only got their web page informing you of the charges and prices. Follow the steps in the link below.

    http://www.blackberryforums.com/blac...em-laptop.html

  12. #12
    kobra's Avatar
    kobra no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    20c87f02
    Posts
    9
    you in the wrong country mate. vodafone and storm work lovely, and its even in the data package.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •