Results 1 to 13 of 13

hey everyone, i was in the process of upgrading my device OS and it said ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    e-berry's Avatar
    e-berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    23001419
    Posts
    308

    bricked my storm?

    Advertisement



    hey everyone, i was in the process of upgrading my device OS and it said it had a fatal error. my BB screen stayed white and it still white. device manager doesn't recognize it and i tried the jjm clder solution but after i try to wipe it appears to do nothing. the ms dos window just goes back to the options i have in jm clder.

    now my BB shows the red light like its turning on and goes to a white screen sometimes. i don't know what to do. could someone please guide me in the right direction.
    --
    More than meets the eye.

  2. #2
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    don't panic. i'm sure we can unbrick it. start here
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  3. #3
    random155's Avatar
    random155 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    69

  4. #4
    e-berry's Avatar
    e-berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    23001419
    Posts
    308
    thank you, i'm checking the links further. will get back to you.
    --
    More than meets the eye.

  5. #5
    e-berry's Avatar
    e-berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    23001419
    Posts
    308
    hmm interesting.. it was unable to detect my BB. doing the loader.exe solution it only showed com1 as the available option but i had it connected via USB. i tried that several times because the desktop manager was not recognizing it at all. so i changed which usb port i was using on the pc and it then recognized it but it said PIN uknown.

    after trying the loader.exe again it connected but after a few it said "Unable to reconnect to the device during a multi-stage load operation."

    now my BB screen says "reload software 507: "
    --
    More than meets the eye.

  6. #6
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    try launching the app loader now.

    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  7. #7
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    ehh saw now you said you just tried that. try rebooting your pc and berry(battery pull) and try it again
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  8. #8
    e-berry's Avatar
    e-berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    23001419
    Posts
    308
    well no luck so far.. it just keeps saying reload software: 507 ... i try loader.exe and after it goes to step 2 for wait for device initialize that reload software saying comes up and then my USB thing on the pc pops up and says device not recognized or something like that. i'm not sure what else to do now.
    --
    More than meets the eye.

  9. #9
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    did you do this?

    1. Install the desktop software.
    2. Install the handheld software. (If it is a non Vendor software.. exp. T-Mobile. search and delete the "vendor.xml" file.)
    3. Pull the battery out of your device.
    4. With the battery out connect the device to the computer.
    5. Go to Options and select "connection settings"
    6. Select USB PIN this may take a few moments since there is no battery in the device. you might even have to select detect device in some rare cases.
    7. Select the application loader icon.
    8. Select all software you want installed.
    9. Proceed to the end portion untill you see the "Finish" button.
    10. Very IMPORTANT. do not hit the finish button, instead select the ADVANCED button.
    11. Make sure both boxes are checked.
    12. Proceed until it asks you if you want to automatically back up and restore. Select DO NOT AUTOMATICALLY BACK UP MY HANDHELD.
    13. Once the process starts. take care not to bump out the cord and re-insert the battery. Again on some rare occasions you might have to wait until it finishes saying connect to insert the battery.
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  10. #10
    brettxw's Avatar
    brettxw no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    504
    Quote Originally Posted by catstide View Post
    did you do this?

    1. Install the desktop software.
    2. Install the handheld software. (If it is a non Vendor software.. exp. T-Mobile. search and delete the "vendor.xml" file.)
    3. Pull the battery out of your device.
    4. With the battery out connect the device to the computer.
    5. Go to Options and select "connection settings"
    6. Select USB PIN this may take a few moments since there is no battery in the device. you might even have to select detect device in some rare cases.
    7. Select the application loader icon.
    8. Select all software you want installed.
    9. Proceed to the end portion untill you see the "Finish" button.
    10. Very IMPORTANT. do not hit the finish button, instead select the ADVANCED button.
    11. Make sure both boxes are checked.
    12. Proceed until it asks you if you want to automatically back up and restore. Select DO NOT AUTOMATICALLY BACK UP MY HANDHELD.
    13. Once the process starts. take care not to bump out the cord and re-insert the battery. Again on some rare occasions you might have to wait until it finishes saying connect to insert the battery.
    That process didnt work for me.


    try doing it this way, this is the way that I had to do it and it worked.

    Open desktop manager, connect your phone to the PC. *with the battery in* Go to your connection settings and click USB. It wont show on you DM with your PIN like it normally would. Once you click USB, check this about 3 more times by going back into connection setup and just make sure its still on USB. Then go to application loader and run "update device software". And click next and continue this as if you were upgrading your device.

    This worked well for me when I wiped my device. I am 99.9% sure this will work for you!
    <-><-><-><-><-><-><-><-><-><-><-><->
    BlackberryOS
    Blackberry Tour 9630
    Blackberry Storm 9530

    Blackberry Curve 8520
    Blackberry Curve 8320

  11. #11
    e-berry's Avatar
    e-berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    23001419
    Posts
    308
    Woohoo! Got it up and running again. Thanks guys do much! I was able to get desktop manager to recognize it. It wasn't showing up so I went into app loader update software and it showed USB my PIN and everything went fine after that.
    via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    great news!
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  13. #13
    e-berry's Avatar
    e-berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    23001419
    Posts
    308
    Now I can see if my 3rd party backup I made a few weeks ago works good lol.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •