Results 1 to 15 of 15

I found the performance of the phone to be very slow. Infact my previous phone ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    saneen's Avatar
    saneen no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    142

    Blackberry Storm Too Slow

    Advertisement



    I found the performance of the phone to be very slow. Infact my previous phone BBPearl also had the same problem. Is it something we should expect in all blackberry phones or is there a solution to this problem. Kindly suggest.

  2. #2
    macallik's Avatar
    macallik no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    874
    What makes the performance slow for you? Constant hourglass? Slow web browsing?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #3
    JoshSeawell's Avatar
    JoshSeawell no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    767
    Quote Originally Posted by saneen View Post
    I found the performance of the phone to be very slow. Infact my previous phone BBPearl also had the same problem. Is it something we should expect in all blackberry phones or is there a solution to this problem. Kindly suggest.
    What OS are you running? and also what are some of the apps that you have installed? How about your free memory what is it at?
    -Josh

  4. #4
    saneen's Avatar
    saneen no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    142
    Quote Originally Posted by macallik View Post
    What makes the performance slow for you? Constant hourglass? Slow web browsing?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Ya its the Hourglass, i have started to realise that it has become part of the screen all the time..........and sometimes it never disappears..........

  5. #5
    saneen's Avatar
    saneen no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    142
    Quote Originally Posted by JoshSeawell View Post
    What OS are you running? and also what are some of the apps that you have installed? How about your free memory what is it at?
    I have been running the same OS that came with the phone.........have never installed any other applications and seem to have lots of free memory.......my question is will changing OS help.........if yes which OS is a stable one to upgrade......

  6. #6
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    OS .148 !!
    "Nowhere am I so desperately needed as among a shipload of illogical Humans." (Spock)

  7. #7
    Robert03's Avatar
    Robert03 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    14
    Upgrading your OS will definitely improve performance. In addition there are certain things you can do to help. Make sure you regularly delete your browsing history as well as clearing your cashe history. In addition you can delete unused programs such as in my case VZ Nav and Visual Voicemail. These programs can eat up a lot of space causing your phone to react slowly. Properly exiting out of programs by pressing Menu Close as opposed to just hitting the red End button keeps
    programs from running in the background. Lastly a good ole fashioned battery pull will keep your storm running smooth! One final tip regarding the internet. Go to options/advanced options and change your mobile network from Global to 1XEV for a faster web browsing experiencing. Hope that helps you!
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  8. #8
    saneen's Avatar
    saneen no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    142
    Thanks all for the wonderful support and suggestions........i shall plan to upgrade to OS-148 this weekend.......

  9. #9
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Keep us updated too
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Apple
    Posts
    1,749
    For sure keep us updated! I'm running a hybrid and it works great with a few app problems, youmail, stitcher, that's it. I'm also using it on att and tmobile so it may be better for you if your on vzw. The hybrid is faster in every aspect vs .148. I don't have random reboots and I think as of right now its as good as its going to get. That being said I'm selling mine due to lack of speed, by that I mean transitions from app to app and just slower overall. Now I use a Bold as my everyday device so I compare it to that. Not really fair. Once 5.0 for the storm comes out I belive everything will be a lot better as it will be designed for a touch device and not an OS that has been adapted.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Apple
    Posts
    1,749
    Also remember that once you update to the newer os that it will take a good 72 hrs to "settle in". So don't be too impatient with it at first. After 2 weeks of running the OS I'm on now all the kinks worked themselves out.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  12. #12
    Robert03's Avatar
    Robert03 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    14
    BHP77,

    Hybrid?? Due tell... First I've heard of it? I think I want it and I don't even know what it is! lol

  13. #13
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert03 View Post
    BHP77,

    Hybrid?? Due tell... First I've heard of it? I think I want it and I don't even know what it is! lol
    LOL

    If it's for BlackBerry, we always want it even if we don't know what or why
    "Nowhere am I so desperately needed as among a shipload of illogical Humans." (Spock)

  14. #14
    Jahmezz's Avatar
    Jahmezz no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    22
    I upgraded to .148 That Sunday it was officially available. After installing this I must say it is a big improvement over .75 but it's still slow, by alot. I did a clean wipe and clean installation, same. I'm on my 3rd BlackBerry Storm. I'm just going to get The BlackBerry Tour when it comes out. Love my Storm, think it's a great concept phone, but the software doesn't back it up.
    Power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely

  15. #15
    jabubb4's Avatar
    jabubb4 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1
    Jahmezz - I had the same problem with .148 I upgraded from one of the beta. I finally decided to try the jl-cmdr using the tutorial from this link How To: Use JL_Cmder to Wipe A BlackBerry Once it was completed, it was like i had a totally new phone. Of coarse i reverted back to the beta .148 os, instead of the official one from verizon. No lock ups, weak signals, random reboots, or Long delays(hour glass), etc since. Hope this helps. It made me start liking my Storm again.
    Last edited by jabubb4; 07-09-2009 at 04:23 PM. Reason: correction

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •