Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 31

Ill go with bajanbastard's opinion on this one. I'm pretty sure the upgrade didnt actually ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806

    Advertisement



    Ill go with bajanbastard's opinion on this one. I'm pretty sure the upgrade didnt actually go through and its just the Carrier's network that got better.
    I dont see how the DM would allow that as I had actually tried that once by accident for a couple times unless i realized i had downloaded the wrong OS duh :P
    But yeah it never let me do it.

  2. #17
    xattica's Avatar
    xattica no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    GA
    Posts
    339
    Well the weird thing is if the 9500 is just UMTS/GPRS and do not have a CDMA chipset inside, why on the OS (C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\Shared\Loader Files) there are a CDMA folder and not a UMTS folder likes the Bold?

    Something is really weird. Please, if there are someone with a Vodafone 9500, can you check the back of your device and confirm that there a no QUALCOMM 3G CDMA logo.
    Last edited by xattica; 02-08-2009 at 04:37 PM.

  3. #18
    barbuser's Avatar
    barbuser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Pin Me
    Posts
    173
    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    Ill go with bajanbastard's opinion on this one. I'm pretty sure the upgrade didnt actually go through and its just the Carrier's network that got better.
    I dont see how the DM would allow that as I had actually tried that once by accident for a couple times unless i realized i had downloaded the wrong OS duh :P
    But yeah it never let me do it.
    I think that the upgrade went through, here is a screenshot of my "About" screen. Note the software version.

    .100 is for the 9500, I own a 9530
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #19
    barbuser's Avatar
    barbuser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Pin Me
    Posts
    173
    Here is a screenshot of my modules page.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #20
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    ~via smartphone~Darn. I'm on my BB and can't see the pic. However if this is the case it would prove the theory the 95XX series are all the same hardware. Thoughts??

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Quote Originally Posted by barbuser View Post
    I think that the upgrade went through, here is a screenshot of my "About" screen. Note the software version.

    .100 is for the 9500, I own a 9530
    Oh i never doubted you, I was just speaking of my personal experience.
    Now if you got it to work that opens the door to a whole bunch of new theories but in the end it doesnt really do anything besides allowing the update of the OS, which in itself is a good thing because in your case it allowed you to have a much more stable phone.

    But as far as thinking that installing a 9520 OS on 9530 or 9500 will enable wifi on the latter, i dont think thats going to happen.

  7. #22
    barbuser's Avatar
    barbuser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Pin Me
    Posts
    173
    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    Ill go with bajanbastard's opinion on this one. I'm pretty sure the upgrade didnt actually go through and its just the Carrier's network that got better.
    Sorry, must have misunderstood your above as a doubt.

    BTW, never heard that a 9520 had been released much less with WIFI, although it does seem inevitable. I never expected to get WIFI on my 9530/9500 as far as I know it doesn't exist. I only wanted to prove that the 9500 os would work on a 9530, which it clearly does.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Quote Originally Posted by barbuser View Post
    Sorry, must have misunderstood your above as a doubt.

    BTW, never heard that a 9520 had been released much less with WIFI, although it does seem inevitable. I never expected to get WIFI on my 9530/9500 as far as I know it doesn't exist. I only wanted to prove that the 9500 os would work on a 9530, which it clearly does.
    Yeah sorry i didnt formulate my thought clearly.

    As for the 9520, itll be Rogers Wifi version of the Storm with NAM 3G.

    Cheers and sorry again about the confusion

  9. #24
    barbuser's Avatar
    barbuser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Pin Me
    Posts
    173
    No worries, cheers!

  10. #25
    xattica's Avatar
    xattica no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    GA
    Posts
    339
    Well I think people said that the Wifi chipset do not exists because their are looking for an additional wifi chipset, likes on the Bold. But the QUALCOMM chipset has WiFi as per specs.

  11. #26
    barbuser's Avatar
    barbuser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Pin Me
    Posts
    173
    Been running .100 for a couple of days with no issues to report. It will be interesting to see if when the 9520 comes out the os can be loaded on the 9530/9500.


    ~via smartERphone~

  12. #27
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    I just saw something about a Hybrid OS that was merged from three others. I had no idea you could do this sort of thing. I may give it a whirl just for the GPS lock in Google Maps. Would there be any other benefits as well?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Well you could get the better reception out of one, the more stability out of another and the better camera and gps lock of another ... its a great new way of upgrading !

    PICKING UP RIM'S SLACK lol

  14. #29
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    I may attempt the Hybrid OS tonight.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •