Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31

So here is my story.... I am a US Expat living in Barbados. All GSM ... BlackBerry Storm forum

  1. #1
    barbuser's Avatar
    barbuser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Pin Me
    Posts
    173

    95XX Hybrid?

    Advertisement



    So here is my story....

    I am a US Expat living in Barbados. All GSM here. I have a Bold that I use for work, love it! When I was in the States at Christmas, I signed up with Verizon and got a Storm. Told them the whole oversees story and got it unlocked.

    When I got back to Barbados I put my local carrier's sim in and the 9530 has been working just ok. Always seemed to take an unusually long time to get from gprs to GPRS and be able to use the net, etc.

    I tried all the betas and ultimately settled on .90

    Although the os was better, I was still having an issue getting to GPRS and holding it. It would always bounce between gprs and GPRS.

    This morning I thought what the heck and installed the 9500 .100 beta. Interestingly when installing .100 for the 9500 on my 9530, only the Blackberry Core Applications updated during the install.

    Well......no more Verizon SOD, and my GPRS works flawlessly. My 9530/9500 works better than it ever has!

    I am not recommending anyone else do this nor that you would get the same results. Just wanted to share my experience.

    I love my VerizVoda Storm now!!!

    It is like getting a whole new phone only now, no lag, no SOD, always on GPRS, typing is fab!

  2. #2
    Aleksrussian's Avatar
    Aleksrussian no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    PIN/ID
    30546CA8
    Posts
    751
    Lol your prolly the first to pull that off succesfuly!

  3. #3
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Way to go barbuser!

    I thought you couldn't actually install .100 on a 9530 as you couldn't install .99 on the 9500. I don't know if anyone else has tried this, but if this works, I wonder if Google Maps would work with internal GPS on a 9530 running 4.7.0.100 in theory?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  4. #4
    barbuser's Avatar
    barbuser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Pin Me
    Posts
    173
    GPS and Google maps working fine!
    ~via smartERphone~

  5. #5
    Aleksrussian's Avatar
    Aleksrussian no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    PIN/ID
    30546CA8
    Posts
    751
    So jealous!

  6. #6
    xattica's Avatar
    xattica no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    GA
    Posts
    339
    Hummm. GPRS works good. What could happend with EDGE doing the same hybrid? Barbuser all the normal stuff working good? Email, Browser, BB msg, another messengers, etc.??

  7. #7
    barbuser's Avatar
    barbuser no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Pin Me
    Posts
    173
    Email, bbm, msn messenger, all working fine. Really its unreal. The performance of my storm is dramatically improved! Even my menus are working first try!


    ~via smartERphone~

  8. #8
    vince1's Avatar
    vince1 no está en línea Community Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    3,676
    It does seem as if the 9500 OS is just better than the 9530. Strange that the addition of a CDMA radio has cause so much problems.
    ~via smartphone~

  9. #9
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    so what's the verdict? should some non verizon 9530 users try to install the 9500 .100???
    interesting.
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  10. #10
    Subarudude's Avatar
    Subarudude no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    PIN/ID
    who noze
    Posts
    105
    you know, im going to China this summer, then to Korea, and I do plan on unlocking the phone....maybe I should consider doing this for efficiency...until I come back from Asia......hmmm interesting....

    this will be quite the decision...
    Running the .132 OS with v3.5 Hybrid installed, working pretty nice!

  11. #11
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    by summer you should have a nice stable 9530 os
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  12. #12
    EthanCole's Avatar
    EthanCole Guest
    Tried it and the storm disconnects and reboots with a fatal error~via smartphone~

  13. #13
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    Quote Originally Posted by EthanCole View Post
    Tried it and the storm disconnects and reboots with a fatal error~via smartphone~
    thanks for taking the bullet for others
    lighten up...life's too short

    my favorite cydia apps and hacks

  14. #14
    Subarudude's Avatar
    Subarudude no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    PIN/ID
    who noze
    Posts
    105
    Yea thanks Ethan...well now we know from this one...I'm sure I won't try this anytime soon
    ~via smartphone~

  15. #15
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    ~via bajans best buddy 8900
    Well there's supposed to be a technique to load the core apps of the 9500 to the 9530 the DTM says it has loaded the files however the 'about' screen always remain the same so there's no way to truly tell if the device has successfully updated or not. It could simply reloading the OS that fixed the problem. Or could have been LAME's network. My 8900 used to lose data on the first builds before .133 now that is no longer a problem.
    Last edited by bajanbastard; 02-08-2009 at 01:41 PM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •