Results 1 to 7 of 7

I assume (and I have searched so think I know the answer) that if you ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    sparkyweb's Avatar
    sparkyweb no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    38

    WiFi Vs Cell

    Advertisement



    I assume (and I have searched so think I know the answer) that if you are connected via WiFi that takes priority over any data EDGE, GPRS, 3G etc.

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    There's a setting on wi-fi phones under "mobile network," "wi-fi preferred" that you can set to give it preference. I think unless it's set that it doesn't take priority.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    As far as I've seen with my Rogers Bold the phone will still use the cell network for voice and Wifi only for data. Not sure if I need to set something different but I'm pretty sure this is standard behavior.

    The Wifi will over-ride everything else for data use but voice I'm not sure.

    ~via Blackberry Bold (wap.pinstack.com)~
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    The Bold may be different but with a Curve, if you have wi-fi on and you're in a hot spot your calls are going to use wi-fi. I know because of all the dropped calls I used to get at home when I had wi-fi on. When I turned off the wi-fi, no more dropped calls.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    psi chick's Avatar
    psi chick no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    465
    ^^^ that's only true with tmo where it allows you to make voice calls using wifi. at&t and verizon do not do that (not sure if the verizon hub will?)

  6. #6
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    I can say for sure that it's not possible with Rogers, either that or I'm severly handicapped.

    ~via Blackberry Bold (wap.pinstack.com)~
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    ColinMac's Avatar
    ColinMac no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by cornelious0_0 View Post
    I can say for sure that it's not possible with Rogers, either that or I'm severly handicapped.

    ~via Blackberry Bold (wap.pinstack.com)~
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Rogers does not support wifi calling yet....however....
    If desperate, you can tether to a laptop and then use skype to make a call.
    This might only really be usefull if you don't have a long distance plan
    and would like to make a lengthy long distance call. I know that's not quite the same
    As making a call over the wifi connection of the phone...it is however one way to exploit your
    Data plan to make phones calles that won't go against your minutes.
    I wouldn't recomend this if you don't have a large data plan
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •