Results 1 to 13 of 13

Hello all. I live in the dominican republic and a month ago the bold came ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    2low's Avatar
    2low no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    2079F036
    Posts
    8

    why WI-FI when you have 3G?????????

    Advertisement



    Hello all.
    I live in the dominican republic and a month ago the bold came out
    My question is why use wifi option when you have 3G,can someone explain
    The benefits???? Of the wifi??
    TIA
    Marco Tulio

  2. #2
    c3po25's Avatar
    c3po25 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    212D4E69
    Posts
    323
    I believe it's because although the 3g network is fast, if you have DSL/cable (pending on the connection speed) for the wifi it might still be faster than the 3g speed.


  3. #3
    Rrupert's Avatar
    Rrupert no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    238E3391
    Posts
    59
    Us up here in Canada pay ALOT for cell and data usage. Wifi definately helps cut down the cost.

  4. #4
    tolgaa's Avatar
    tolgaa no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2
    Some cellular network give no access some video stream sites (such as m.youtube.com) on 3g with BIS account.

  5. #5
    Jaricanese's Avatar
    Jaricanese no está en línea Software Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    902
    Yeah Wifi in most cases is faster, free (in the relation to your phone), and just like any other cellular signal, sometimes you can lose signal. If you are in a building with bad reception, you can still use wifi.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    krosli's Avatar
    krosli no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    747101D2
    Posts
    539
    In comparison, people uses Wifi so as not to incur any data charges. When you are using 3G, you are using your data plan. I know my friends have unlimited data in the US but for us here in Canada, you have to pay quite a bit for data. Having Wifi helps to cut down on data charges that you might incur.

  7. #7
    2low's Avatar
    2low no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    2079F036
    Posts
    8
    That answers my question too and it makes sense,we have unlimited data for a
    Monthly fee.
    Does the web browser work with wifi or just email?
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063
    Quote Originally Posted by 2low View Post
    That answers my question too and it makes sense,we have unlimited data for a
    Monthly fee.
    Does the web browser work with wifi or just email?
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Yes, the browser works with wifi.

  9. #9
    Ge's Avatar
    Ge
    Ge no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    738
    I don't use my Blackberry to do any extensive browsing. I have my notebook for that. I use it too look up something quickly when I am on the go. WiFi kills the battery to quick for me so I much rather use my data plan. I am a heavy user and I need all the juice I can get to make it through the day
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Last edited by Ge; 10-31-2008 at 01:57 AM. Reason: Spelling

  10. #10
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    maybe bc 3G isn't available in all areas? im in northern california, east SF bay and there is no 3G here in my area...

  11. #11
    jscottbarnes's Avatar
    jscottbarnes no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    No-More
    Posts
    1,273
    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo View Post
    maybe bc 3G isn't available in all areas? im in northern california, east SF bay and there is no 3G here in my area...
    Ditto... 3G isn't available at my house yet and my wifi network keeps things zoomin along the Bold

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Quote Originally Posted by Rrupert View Post
    Us up here in Canada pay ALOT for cell and data usage. Wifi definately helps cut down the cost.
    thats not even 100% true anymore.
    25$ gets you 500mb off contract and thats usually MORE than enough
    30$ gets you 1GB on 3years term and thats even BETTER lol
    I have the expired 30$ 6GB of data and believe me ive never even reached 600mb in one month
    So no Canada doesnt have the outrageous prices we used to have!

  13. #13
    Ge's Avatar
    Ge
    Ge no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    738
    I have the 6 Gig Data plan. Now I know how all those City Fido guys feel.

    Last month I used 60 Megs total

    Before I had the 6 Gigs, I had the $15 unlimited email and even then I only used about 25 Megs a month.

    I think I am going to start tethering on my notebook. I want to crack the 1 Gig Barrier

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •