Results 1 to 14 of 14

I've been trying to upgrade my software for the past hour and I need some ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    Droopidog's Avatar
    Droopidog no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    64

    Upgrading software help needed

    Advertisement



    I've been trying to upgrade my software for the past hour and I need some help please. I followed all the directions in the above thread too upgrade software.

    I'm trying to go from 167 to 266 and it keeps telling me that no software upgrade is required for your device. When I click on the application loader I get 3 options for software. I get:
    Blackberry 4.6 downgrade
    Blackberry 4.6.0.451 for 9000 (the one I'm trying to upgrade to)
    Blackberry 4.6(preferred) the on I currently have. The box in front of this one is checked.

    I have:
    deleted the vendor.xml file
    deleted any old software version off my computer
    I am using 4.7 DM

    I don't know what I am doing wrong, can someone please help me.

    Kim

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Uncheck the box on the 4.6 and check the one next to the .451. Once you do that all you should need to do is hit next and wait for it to upgrade.

  3. #3
    Droopidog's Avatar
    Droopidog no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    64
    When I do that I get the message: no software upgrade is required for your device. What am I doing wrong?

  4. #4
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    You can try a couple of things. First disconnect from the Internet and try again. If that doesn't work then go to c/program files/common file/research in motion/app loader and run the loader from there. Also before doing this go to add remove programs (programs and features on vista) and be sure that the OS you are wanting is actually installed to your PC.

    If none of that works post back and we will go from there.

  5. #5
    Droopidog's Avatar
    Droopidog no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    64
    How to I run the app loader from the program files? I did check to make sure the OS is loaded and it is. Thanks for trying to get me through this.

  6. #6
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    In the app loader folder there is an icon that looks like a cell phone that is named loader. Just click on it and it should start loading.

  7. #7
    Droopidog's Avatar
    Droopidog no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    64
    I found it right after I posted. It may have worked. Waiting for the phone to boot back up. I'll let you know. Thanks for your help.

  8. #8
    BB_KC_Boy's Avatar
    BB_KC_Boy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    2079E897
    Posts
    122
    Your problems is DM 4.7 i had the same problems since it will find the devices brand and check there update only.. you will have to install DM 4.6 to install using a downloaded Os.

    Edit--

    Oh ok i will have to install 4.7 DM tonight and check that out.

    but i ended up uninstalling 4.7 DM putting 4.6 DM on there and it worked great..!!
    Last edited by BB_KC_Boy; 06-19-2009 at 11:46 PM. Reason: Posted before read.
    T- Mobile G1 using Cyanogen Build 4.1.11.1 Android 1.6 On T-Mobile Network
    Running a Hero Based Theme

    I AM A PC AND LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Droopidog's Avatar
    Droopidog no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    64
    Thanks MC, your way worked. No I have to re-install all my programs.

  10. #10
    BB_KC_Boy's Avatar
    BB_KC_Boy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    2079E897
    Posts
    122
    i will have to remember that and try it later with my wife's 8100
    T- Mobile G1 using Cyanogen Build 4.1.11.1 Android 1.6 On T-Mobile Network
    Running a Hero Based Theme

    I AM A PC AND LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

  11. #11
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    DM 5.0 is the best!!
    Fast and Flawless.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  12. #12
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by SVT Cobra View Post
    DM 5.0 is the best!!
    Fast and Flawless.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Does it cover all devices or just the newer ones?

  13. #13
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    Does it cover all devices or just the newer ones?
    I'll check. I'm almost positive it's all models.
    "Nowhere am I so desperately needed as among a shipload of illogical Humans." (Spock)

  14. #14
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    I won't guarantee it, but from multiple forum sites, it appears to.
    Worst case, uninstall it and downgrade again
    "Nowhere am I so desperately needed as among a shipload of illogical Humans." (Spock)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •