Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Can I use my 9700 as a modem to go online with my netbook that ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    simeezee's Avatar
    simeezee no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    215C1928
    Posts
    296

    Tethering with a netbook?

    Advertisement



    Can I use my 9700 as a modem to go online with my netbook that has windows 7 32bit? If so, what's the speed if I'm in the 3G covered area?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    kendrick87's Avatar
    kendrick87 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    216413F3
    Posts
    95
    Yes you can. You must install the latest version of Blackberry Desktop Manager. Then in the main menu click on "IP Modem". First click on the "Configure" button. It should configure the connection automatically. Then click on "connect" and you should be good to go! I've been getting download speeds of about 1 mb/s. It's great for normal web browsing and you CAN download larger files if necessary. Not too shabby.

  3. #3
    Rockwell's Avatar
    Rockwell no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    97
    I was wondering if anyone knows a way to do it without desktop manager

  4. #4
    kendrick87's Avatar
    kendrick87 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    216413F3
    Posts
    95
    Quote Originally Posted by Rockwell View Post
    I was wondering if anyone knows a way to do it without desktop manager
    Something against desktop manager?

  5. #5
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322
    Quote Originally Posted by Rockwell View Post
    I was wondering if anyone knows a way to do it without desktop manager
    not to my knowledge.

  6. #6
    kylemcdonald87's Avatar
    kylemcdonald87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    376
    Setup a dial-up connection and select your BlackBerry as the "Standard Modem" fill out number to dial, username, and password and you should be good to go. NOTE: you must have the BlackBerry Device Manager running so the modem will be picked up.

  7. #7
    larry8143's Avatar
    larry8143 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    PIN/ID
    30b153b4
    Posts
    4
    Great tip! Just one problem. After I downloaded the new version (5.0.1) of DM, I saw the "IP Modem" icon. After I connected my 8330, the icon disappeared. The same thing happened on my desktop. What gives?

  8. #8
    kendrick87's Avatar
    kendrick87 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    216413F3
    Posts
    95
    You have an 8330 on verizon I take it? That is most likely the problem. T-mobile is the only carrier I know of that allows FREE modem tethering.

  9. #9
    kylemcdonald87's Avatar
    kylemcdonald87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    376
    If you are on Verizon you have to pay for it and that would explain why it disappears...

  10. #10
    bunky1971's Avatar
    bunky1971 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    22F29DE1
    Posts
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by kylemcdonald87 View Post
    If you are on Verizon you have to pay for it and that would explain why it disappears...
    Have you tried to tether over Bluetooth?

  11. #11
    kylemcdonald87's Avatar
    kylemcdonald87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    376
    yeah and its a little trickier... ur bluetooth has to be enabled before the device manger starts up and the modem has to be "Standard Modem over Bluetooth"

  12. #12
    tessitori's Avatar
    tessitori no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by kendrick87 View Post
    You have an 8330 on verizon I take it? That is most likely the problem. T-mobile is the only carrier I know of that allows FREE modem tethering.
    I am on AT@T and I tether for free both domestically and Internationally!

  13. #13
    blackninja's Avatar
    blackninja no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    spam=no
    Posts
    1,322
    Quote Originally Posted by tessitori View Post
    I am on AT@T and I tether for free both domestically and Internationally!
    then you are one of the lucky few who have slipped through the cracks. Tmo offers it free to all data plan having berry customers, but AT&T asks $30 per month (or may have been bumped higher). you can find it in the plan add-on options.

  14. #14
    timmyc123's Avatar
    timmyc123 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    246C8F8A
    Posts
    8
    When I do it with my Dell Mini over Bluetooth, I do not need Desktop Manager open.

  15. #15
    simeezee's Avatar
    simeezee no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    215C1928
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by timmyc123 View Post
    When I do it with my Dell Mini over Bluetooth, I do not need Desktop Manager open.
    Does bluetooth slow down the connection a little bit compared to connecting with a USB cable?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •