Results 1 to 9 of 9

Greetings All, This might be a stupid question....however, can someone tell me the following: I'm ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    candigrl73's Avatar
    candigrl73 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    26D70D4B
    Posts
    74

    Switch from Curve 8320 to BOLD

    Advertisement



    Greetings All,

    This might be a stupid question....however, can someone tell me the following:

    I'm switching from Curve 8320 from TMO to Bold..just waiting for the FED EX Truck to get here. Would I need to use the CD to txf information from my curve to my Bold?? Since there are two different carriers?? BB Mess List(will i lose my buddies) , JIVETALK among other software programs. please advise.

    Thanks,
    Candigrl

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Candi,

    You should be able to use the Switch Device Wizard from with Desktop Manager. I don't this process cares that you're changing carriers. Once you're up on the new device, I think BBM will inform all your contacts of your new PIN and you might need to re-register any 3rd party applications (like JiveTalk) after the switch, especially since you're changing carriers.

    Hope this helps!
    Roger

  3. #3
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994
    What OS is your curve running? DO a backup and then choose a selective install on the Bold...going from 4.2 to a 4.6 device will brick your bold. At least when I switched curve (4.5) to another curve (4.2) it bricked the curve 4.2...dont know if it will do it the other way around...
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  4. #4
    stnkyq2's Avatar
    stnkyq2 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    IMTHTG
    Posts
    780
    Make sure that you use the Advance settings on the Desktop Manager. Select certain files; contacts, calendar and anything else besides the apps. You will be ok. I have done a device transfer, but only selected these things. Once, I installed the 3rd party apps and registered them I did another restore of the all the data from my last back up and all my info was back on the BOLD with no errors at all. Try this out and let us know what happens.....
    "A clear cut vision is the best path to success.. persistence is the vehicle you arrive in..." -Rev. Run

    Crackberry @ddict for LIFE..........

  5. #5
    candigrl73's Avatar
    candigrl73 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    26D70D4B
    Posts
    74
    thanks for the advice.

    i will let you guys know.

  6. #6
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    As its been said, you'll be fine using the software to do the transfer, carriers make no difference. I actually just went through the same process, had an 8330 and went with a different carrier for the Bold. The device transfer went fine for me is all I can say.

    One noteworthy point though, Jivetalk has two forms of licenses, one registers the app just to that one PIN, whereas the other is more of a user license that can be transfered from device to device. Depending on which route you took you may or may not be able to transfer Jivetalk.

    Hopefully you like the Bold, I'm in love with mine, it conpletely trumps the curve in every way...as if I needing anything else to strengthen my addiction.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    smis's Avatar
    smis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    OU812
    Posts
    160
    I have the curve 8310 is the camera the or is it better, I do not like the zoom it makes everything so far away as far as I can tell.
    Once you go BlackBerry you never go back!

  8. #8
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    In terms of image quality I find the camera in the Bold to be about on par with my 8330.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Trust me you wont be disapointed! And as reported already you wont have any problem switching devices

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •