Results 1 to 11 of 11

I'm hoping someone can help with a wi-fi problem I have. I can't connect my ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106

    Problem with Wi-Fi

    Advertisement



    I'm hoping someone can help with a wi-fi problem I have. I can't connect my Bold to the internet via wi-fi. I keep getting the error message "Failed to associate with network". It finds the router when I search for it but just won't connect. Any advice??
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  2. #2
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Is this a personal network or public?

  3. #3
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    Hi reddog, its a personal one. When I got my replacement bold on sat, I got it up and running fine, don't know if I've accidentally changed a setting or something?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Did the old Bold work connect fine?

  5. #5
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    Yes, it worked fine and I have got this one to work too, just doesn't work any more. I've ran the diagnostic and just get the above error
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    I would look into your router, maybe something has changed? I know that if you have DHCP enabled the router will assign an IP address to each device on the network. Maybe there's an IP conflict? Do you have any other devices on the network?

  7. #7
    rashard's Avatar
    rashard no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    208FBA40
    Posts
    1,201
    Make sure your router is conected to the internet and putting out the wi fi (is there a light on it for link, lan, wireless, ? Did you have a power outage, maybe you need to pull the power plug out on the router and wait 30 seconds and then plug it back in.

    Red I have had that problem before with the laptop, Wii and PS3 all running intermittenly, before it sucks lol
    It takes many professionals versed in many different area's to help the masses, I am just a single drop in that pool.

    BXXXX[:::::::::::::::::::::::::::>


  8. #8
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    Hi, its a newish router, only had it a couple of weeks ago, however I have got my Bold to work on it so dont know?? what should my settings be?

  9. #9
    diaz1023's Avatar
    diaz1023 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    293
    have you tried to manually add the network instead of the automatic scan? you would then ensure that all settings are correct, such as: SSID, password, and network to use (A, B or G)
    Felipe Diaz

    BB Bold 9700 (AT&T)

  10. #10
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    That's a good idea, will try that and let you know. When I automatically scan it picks up the 'netgear' connection and the wep code is already there.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    Ok tried manually adding settings and still no joy. I've looked at all the help topics on my bold but still nothing helps!
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •