Results 1 to 8 of 8

Been meaning to post this a week ago so if anyone out there had this ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    8800bruin's Avatar
    8800bruin no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    109

    Lightbulb Problem with aquiring 3G Data signal

    Advertisement



    Been meaning to post this a week ago so if anyone out there had this issue too, they'd have my solution!

    One morning I got to work and noticed my Bold was not connected to the data network, next to my signal indicator I had 3g, not 3G (with the dots, see attached picture). So I proceed to turn the wireless connection off and then back on. Still goes to 3g. Then I did a battery pull, same thing.

    I proceeded to call AT&T to see if somehow the provisioning for my data services were dropped. Nope, all is good. They had me do battery pulls as they purged my connection from the system and forced my phone to find a new tower. Still only 3g.

    Then I was transferred to Advanced Tech Support. His solution was to take a backup and then reset the handheld to factory specs. What everyone wants to hear. Joy.

    So I did and behold, my berry came back to life. So I started downloading programs and after about 15 minutes, back to 3g. So I reset the phone yet again. This time within 5 minutes, 3g.

    So I went one step further. This time I used jl_cmdr and I wiped the handheld clean and then reinstalled the OS via Desktop Manager. After the reinstall, then started to reinstall programs and then activated all my email accounts and I've been good ever since.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    snipes mcgee's Avatar
    snipes mcgee no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    555
    Which OS was this?
    I have a BlackBerry and a WhiteApple. :)

  3. #3
    8800bruin's Avatar
    8800bruin no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    109
    4.6.0.185

  4. #4
    GregGebhardt's Avatar
    GregGebhardt no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    No Way
    Posts
    680
    So how is it working. Still sounds like bad reception to me. Seldom seen an OS do anything to improve.
    Greg
    in Jax, FL

  5. #5
    8800bruin's Avatar
    8800bruin no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by GregGebhardt View Post
    So how is it working. Still sounds like bad reception to me. Seldom seen an OS do anything to improve.
    Since I reinstalled the OS it's been working perfectly. Something must have gotten corrupted in there and a wipe and reinstall was the only thing that fixed it.

  6. #6
    nova609's Avatar
    nova609 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    108
    Sorry for the dumb question...but whats the difference between the 3g and the 3g(with dots)?

  7. #7
    rashard's Avatar
    rashard no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    208FBA40
    Posts
    1,201
    I believe the little g wont handel data (email,bbm so on) only phone calls
    It takes many professionals versed in many different area's to help the masses, I am just a single drop in that pool.

    BXXXX[:::::::::::::::::::::::::::>


  8. #8
    8800bruin's Avatar
    8800bruin no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by nova609 View Post
    Sorry for the dumb question...but whats the difference between the 3g and the 3g(with dots)?
    If your phone is 3g (lower case g) you just have phone service. Compariable to EDGE vs edge.

    If you have 3G (capital G), you may get data, but if you get 3G with the dots (as in the image above) you are fully on the data network and can access everything.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •