Results 1 to 12 of 12

I am having a problem getting AOL to work on my brand new blackberry bold ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    GD_2005's Avatar
    GD_2005 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    28

    Lightbulb problem with AOL

    Advertisement



    I am having a problem getting AOL to work on my brand new blackberry bold and I have unlimited data. When I open the AOL software that was installed it says "service not enabled for this handheld" once trying to sign onto AIM???

  2. #2
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995
    Did you download that from mobile.blackberry.com from your browser ?

    Also, have you registered your bb on BIS? Have you host routed your bb? Are your service books up and running?

  3. #3
    GD_2005's Avatar
    GD_2005 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    28
    umm where abouts do I register my bb? whats BIS? and how do I host route my BB?

  4. #4
    javatyger's Avatar
    javatyger no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    U5W15H
    Posts
    645

    Lightbulb Info for ya...

    Quote Originally Posted by GD_2005 View Post
    umm where abouts do I register my bb? whats BIS? and how do I host route my BB?
    It should be registered to the network, but if not, go to "options - host routing table - press the blackberry button on the 1st thing listed and go "register now." Should register and you get a confirmation email.

    BIS is the Blackberry Internet Service - all regular consumers have this. BES is the other one for enterprise users.

    Good luck with AOL. if in doubt, remove it and re-install it.

  5. #5
    GD_2005's Avatar
    GD_2005 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    28
    worked thanks a lot!! cheers

  6. #6
    GD_2005's Avatar
    GD_2005 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    28
    another issue actually ... it shows that all my contacts are offline and when I check on my computer it shows a bunch online ... whats going on here?

  7. #7
    Ge's Avatar
    Ge
    Ge no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    738
    Hit menu and try refreshing your contact list. Or log out and log back in

  8. #8
    GD_2005's Avatar
    GD_2005 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    28
    tried that and had no luck ?

  9. #9
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    Is it possible that its something on AOL's end to do with the way the information is forwarded to the blackberry? If so it would explain a lot but it'd also mean that there wouldn't be much you can do to fix it.

    Good ol' AOL, I've never had anything but issues dealing with their software.


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995
    Quote Originally Posted by GD_2005 View Post
    worked thanks a lot!! cheers
    Someone beat me to answering my questions to you. Anyhow, I'm glad it works, it does work, right?

  11. #11
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995
    Quote Originally Posted by GD_2005 View Post
    another issue actually ... it shows that all my contacts are offline and when I check on my computer it shows a bunch online ... whats going on here?
    You can't be online from two different places at once. I know that when I'm on AIM on my phone and then I try to sign on my computer, it kicks me off the one on my phone and vice versa.

  12. #12
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyo0tdemon View Post
    You can't be online from two different places at once. I know that when I'm on AIM on my phone and then I try to sign on my computer, it kicks me off the one on my phone and vice versa.
    I'm pretty sure that was already known, what he/she is talking about it checking at different times and not seeing any online conracts via the Bold.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •