Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 31

Originally Posted by ranxoren Oh wow... Used it all day on .190 and heres my ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #16
    mac14x's Avatar
    mac14x no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    217a1629
    Posts
    731

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    Oh wow... Used it all day on .190 and heres my battery at 7pm : 65%.
    ill give you my heart for your battery lol
    ~90 people get the swine flu and everyone is wearing face masks. Millions of people have AIDS but no one wears condoms...



  2. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806

  3. #18
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995
    My battery life with .185 rocks! I use bbm all day, am on Jivetalk all day, txt msg all day, browse the internet here and there, AND talk on the phone here and there and I'm still left with a bar or two of battery by the end of the day. Whoo hooo!

  4. #19
    drjamie03's Avatar
    drjamie03 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    214
    Yep! My experience exactly! I have no complaints about battery life now. It isn't as long as my 8820, but it is 3G and you have to allow for that.

  5. #20
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995
    Quote Originally Posted by drjamie03 View Post
    Yep! My experience exactly! I have no complaints about battery life now. It isn't as long as my 8820, but it is 3G and you have to allow for that.
    Amen. I totally agree. I forgot to mention that I also keep WiFi on all day long and mine is always searching for WiFi network all day long. When I was first on .167, my battery would be almost dead by around 1 to 2pm. I had to charge it overnight, around 1-2pm and then, at night when I got home. Now, I just charge it once overnight and it lasts me all day long. So can't complain!

  6. #21
    dtx's Avatar
    dtx
    dtx no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    207B3A96
    Posts
    640
    I've had the opposite experience. 162 was way better than 185 for me. I'm going back to 162 as we speak!
    --
    DTx
    PIN: 207B3A96
    Bold 9000
    Rogers BIS
    OS 4.6.0.150


  7. #22
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    There seems to be a misconception floating around about WiFi & battery life. What many seem to think is that WiFi "seeking a signal or network" is what draws down on battery life. That is simply not the case. WiFi is nothing more than a radio that requires power to operate. Therefore it's having Wifi turned on that requires power, not the fact that it's seeking a signal. There is one other myth as well. So many are complaining that the AT&T Bold does not allow one to manually switch between 2G & 3G, and yet what they do not realize is that upon testing the Rogers Bold it was found to be a software switch that was not needed. However people immediately assumed that it was "left off" of the AT&T Bold thereby making it inferior. Therefore those two points have no merit & should not be of concern.
    .
    sent via BlackBerry
    (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #23
    untjoker's Avatar
    untjoker no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    405
    Quote Originally Posted by archer6 View Post
    There seems to be a misconception floating around about WiFi & battery life. What many seem to think is that WiFi "seeking a signal or network" is what draws down on battery life. That is simply not the case. WiFi is nothing more than a radio that requires power to operate. Therefore it's having Wifi turned on that requires power, not the fact that it's seeking a signal. There is one other myth as well. So many are complaining that the AT&T Bold does not allow one to manually switch between 2G & 3G, and yet what they do not realize is that upon testing the Rogers Bold it was found to be a software switch that was not needed. However people immediately assumed that it was "left off" of the AT&T Bold thereby making it inferior. Therefore those two points have no merit & should not be of concern.
    .
    sent via BlackBerry
    (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I gotta tell you bro, a manual switch to change to EDGE/2g at your discretion is always needed if you ask me.
    Yes, I've been diagnosed with Phantom Vibration Disorder.....

  9. #24
    joewoo's Avatar
    joewoo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    22CF1F2F
    Posts
    492
    Why? If the system is picking the best for you.. Wouldn't you interfering make it less efficient? Please explain why its "always needed"

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #25
    Ge's Avatar
    Ge
    Ge no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    738
    I guess if you just want to use the phone, why do you need 3G?

    Just select 2G and leave it locked on.

  11. #26
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by untjoker View Post
    I gotta tell you bro, a manual switch to change to EDGE/2g at your discretion is always needed if you ask me.
    I certainly agree that for those of us that like to have control over the phone (as I do) it's nice to have the choice. However it's important to note that AT&T's network is designed to do that automatically for the user. Thus when a phone manufacturer works with AT&T and enables that feature in their phones, they switch back and forth seamlessly and there is no downside.

    It's not any different than when the cellular industry was migrating from analog to digital phones. AT&T was a network leader and had phones that switched automatically. The same holds true today. My Bold runs on 3G constantly when I'm in the city. Then as I drive to my home that is at an elevation of 2000 feet in the foothills, my Bold switches to 2G, and one would never know the difference. Automatic, convenient, and no downside.

    Cheers...


  12. #27
    joewoo's Avatar
    joewoo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    22CF1F2F
    Posts
    492
    3G sounds better for calls.. What would the benefit be if you manually chose to 2G?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #28
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by joewoo View Post
    3G sounds better for calls.. What would the benefit be if you manually chose to 2G?
    To reduce, or eliminate "hunting", and dropped calls.

    Much like when driving a car with an automatic transmission and climbing a grade, depending on the angle of the grade the transmission may begin "hunting" for the right gear, thereby up shifting and down shifting frequently.

    If one is traveling with their phone, in an area where 3G is weak and 2G is stronger the phone if not properly optimized, will keep switching between the two, which greatly impacts it's ability to hold the signal and not drop the call. This is typically a problem when roaming. However an expensive properly designed phone will switch to one and stay there until the other signal remains predominant.


  14. #29
    Jemjee's Avatar
    Jemjee no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    8
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #30
    Jemjee's Avatar
    Jemjee no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    8
    Quick question. If I upgrade my OS, will I loose all of my downloads (i.e. Pinstack launcher)?
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •