Results 1 to 9 of 9

Alright, this is my 3rd try at installing the new 5.0 os on my 9000 ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    granwsmith's Avatar
    granwsmith no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    PIN/ID
    2093876C
    Posts
    76

    OFFICIALLY PEEVED WITH 5.O os

    Advertisement



    Alright, this is my 3rd try at installing the new 5.0 os on my 9000

    Everytime i do so, i get apps deleted which i expected. However, when i try to go into Appworld to reinstall these deleted apps,
    i get the following error: net.rim.device.api.ui.toolbar.toolbarbuttonfield'

    This has happened with all three attempts. i figured after each attempt i'd wait and let RIM fix the prob and try again in a month or so.

    No luck.

    Am I missing something or is the 9000 destined to never use the 5.0 os???

    any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    granwsmith's Avatar
    granwsmith no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    PIN/ID
    2093876C
    Posts
    76
    oh, and to boot, i get an illegal java language error whenever it restarts. really peeving me off this 5.0

  3. #3
    granwsmith's Avatar
    granwsmith no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    PIN/ID
    2093876C
    Posts
    76
    correction: any app that was not deleted during the upgrade, no longer works. So now i can't get back the apps that were deleted and i can't use the ones that weren't.

  4. #4
    SGZrazberry's Avatar
    SGZrazberry no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    488
    What OS are you running, what apps have issues...some are not compatible with 5.0. Get bbsak, do a wipe and clean install of 5.0.0.411 and reload ur apps one by one. Check each as you go or ensure you've checked for 5.0 compatibility....I have had two 9000's running 5.0x for months without those issues. Good luck....when u provide that info you will get more input from the stacks.

  5. #5
    Antgod's Avatar
    Antgod no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    2148A220
    Posts
    320
    I also don't have problems with 5.0 on the 9g ,except its to cool

  6. #6
    granwsmith's Avatar
    granwsmith no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    PIN/ID
    2093876C
    Posts
    76
    Okay, I downgraded back to my old os.
    I'm currently using 4.6.0.303 on platform 4.0.0.248

    When I upgrade, I use dtm as it prompts me everytime I plug in my device.
    It informs me that ill have some apps deleted n will need to reinstall n to go to ____

    When all is said it done, it looks sweet. Runs smooth.
    But I've lost appworld, bbm, facebook, google and viigo.

    So I go to site where it prompts me to download appworld from www.blackberry.com/appworld

    I do so. It downloads successfully. I click it to use it and the error appears.

    The apps I have left also prompt an error, sports net, msn, poynt and various games.

    I'm confuzzed, 3xs I've tried this upgrade w same results everytime.

    I'm no techy power user but I'm not a newb either lol.
    But I feel like one now. Lol

  7. #7
    SGZrazberry's Avatar
    SGZrazberry no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    488
    Im on Rogers in Ottawa and I dont have any of those issues with any of the 5.0 builds. 4.6.0.303 was a good build when I used it.
    I have given up using the DM for changing my OS' just because of the issues that pop up. After starting to use BBSAK all these problems have gone away.
    Here are the steps I would use to change to the 5.0.0.411....after backing up
    1)download and install BBSAK (use the link in my signature)
    2)uninstall the 4.6.0.303 from your computer.
    3)download and install 5.0.0.411 on your computer.
    4)plug in your 9000 (close out of DM if prompted)
    5)open BBSAK
    6)When your Pin is recognized choose wipe (unless you wish to back up 3rd party apps in a bbsak folder)
    7)When asked if you REALLY want to wipe...select yes.
    8)When it tells you the wipe is complete, then select Load OS
    9)follow the prompts and enjoy your 5.0

    Ive done this a number of times on a few berries now with no issues... This should work for you. If not pm me....
    godsdameatIluvdezlittleboxes

    The answer to everything?...BBSAK http://rimgeeks.com/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=56

  8. #8
    SGZrazberry's Avatar
    SGZrazberry no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    488
    oh by the way.......Ive heard a number of people complaining about issues with Appworld....so it may not be you. Personally I dont use it...I go elsewhere.
    godsdameatIluvdezlittleboxes

    The answer to everything?...BBSAK http://rimgeeks.com/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=56

  9. #9
    granwsmith's Avatar
    granwsmith no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    PIN/ID
    2093876C
    Posts
    76
    Okay thanx a bunch sgz.
    Ill give it a shot when I have some time kill and let ya know how it goes.

    Appreciate the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •