Results 1 to 6 of 6

my device is sitting at 45460002 file free (43.35 meagbytes) ok so the bold has ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    offthahorseceo's Avatar
    offthahorseceo no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A2AD7C
    Posts
    1,562

    not your typical memory question...

    Advertisement



    my device is sitting at 45460002 file free (43.35 meagbytes)
    ok so the bold has 128 megs of application memory built in. However, if you check the status or help screens, file total is shown as 96993280 bytes which translates to 92.5 megabytes.(for me at least)

    we could assume that rim does what every other memory company does and calculates using 1000 instead of 1024. in that case

    128*1000= 128000 (kilobytes in a megabyte)
    128000*1000=128000000 (bytes in a megabyte)

    128000000/1024= 125000 (real kilobytes)
    125000/1024= 122.07 real megabytes

    ok so from 122meg down to 92meg is roughly 30 megabytes. i always attributed that loss to the OS files files that are preloaded on the device.

    however if thats the case, what is eating up the other 49.15 megabytes? (92.5 file total-43.35 file free)

    even if you wipe the device, and you start fresh with no third party apps, you are never at the file total amount. so what causes the difference?

    128 megs sounded SO NICE until i thought about how much of that would mysteriously be missing.

    on the curves we "had' 64 megs, but would always have 39-ish file total and at most (for me) 29 file free...

    can anyone explain?

  2. #2
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    You can peruse this

  3. #3
    betavirus's Avatar
    betavirus no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    68
    What's to worry about? If yo have any free memory the device will work.
    Can't understand why everyone is so worried about how much free memory their device has.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    Safiy's Avatar
    Safiy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    304d0ac5
    Posts
    720
    Quote Originally Posted by betavirus View Post
    What's to worry about? If yo have any free memory the device will work.
    Can't understand why everyone is so worried about how much free memory their device has.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    You're basically correct, bit not ANY free memory. Most bb's need around 7MB of free memory to operate correctly. I've never seen or heard of one being anywhere close to 7. I know its happened somewhere, but it very rare I would say. So there really isn't much to be concerned about.

  5. #5
    offthahorseceo's Avatar
    offthahorseceo no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A2AD7C
    Posts
    1,562
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~its not about that. If you buy a 20oz bottle of coke, do you want 12oz worth in the bottle? If you buy 3 pounds of cheese do you wanna end up with 1 pound?

    RIM advertised 128 megs app memory and I'm getting significantly less

  6. #6
    Safiy's Avatar
    Safiy no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    304d0ac5
    Posts
    720
    Oh yeah. As far as 128 megs only being 92.5 I not sure. It is weird. Hmm. Have you ever installed a OS on a pc? When you do a fresh one you can format the hard drive. One thing I noticed was formatting a HD always left a portion unallocated which can't be seen after os is installed. I wonder if this is a similar situation.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •