Results 1 to 9 of 9

I just upgraded to v5.0.0.545(bell) OS from 5.0.0423, I noticed the long press mute key ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    bobhammer's Avatar
    bobhammer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    2171D09A
    Posts
    139

    No more standby mode??

    Advertisement



    I just upgraded to v5.0.0.545(bell) OS from 5.0.0423, I noticed the long press mute key to put the phone to standby mode has gone, is it done deliberately or is it just a bug???
    Can someone plz help out??

    thanks in advance!!!
    Gtalk:bobhammer
    Yahoo:bobhammer3
    Msn:bobhammer3

  2. #2
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    I think that it was intentional, if you notice, when you press the button now, the phone shuts down completely. The screen goes black and the keyboard locks...it's like standby mode, just a little different. Before when you pressed the button, the keyboard just locked and you could still view the desktop.

  3. #3
    Kimberlee's Avatar
    Kimberlee no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    191
    Is this better on your battery, going into standby instead of just locking Thanks.

  4. #4
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    Yes...I have noticed a huge increase in battery life with this build. I haven't noticed any issues yet...running very well on my 9700. I was running .405 and was charging every day, with this new build I am charging every 2 days!!

  5. #5
    fatboy97's Avatar
    fatboy97 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    213
    Is Your Mute Key No Longer Working For Stand By Mode?

    In earlier BlackBerry Device Software versions the mute key was used to turn standby mode on. Due to changes in the lock key functionality on the BlackBerry smartphone starting in BlackBerry Device software 5.0, the mute key no longer places the BlackBerry smartphone into Standby mode. The mute key will still function to mute calls in the phone application.
    At least .545 and .566 have had this new feature in place... I've started getting used to using the Lock button.

  6. #6
    bobhammer's Avatar
    bobhammer no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    2171D09A
    Posts
    139
    I have noticed something odd tho! Like when u are on the phone with the handfree, before I updated, I was able to lock the phone with the top left lock key! But since I have updated, I seem to have lost this function and I want it back? Is it done intentionally, or is it a bug????
    Gtalk:bobhammer
    Yahoo:bobhammer3
    Msn:bobhammer3

  7. #7
    enotar's Avatar
    enotar no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6
    I am in 593 and it is gone for ever I think.
    You can use a third party like autostandby.
    There maybe some free solutions arround.
    Last edited by enotar; 04-18-2010 at 11:35 AM.

  8. #8
    Lowrider's Avatar
    Lowrider no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    1,418
    So is the keyboard lock also the standby? The manual doesn't cover this!Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737
    I don't think anybody really knows what "standby mode" on a BB is lol - - Right now I'm running 586, and: 1. The alt/enter combination locks the device and invokes the password; 2. The top left "lock" key shuts off the lights and locks the keyboard, but does not invoke the password; and 3. Pressing and holding the "A" key does the same thing as the Lock key. I guess you can characterize 2 and 3 as "Standby Mode" if you want [grin]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •