Results 1 to 14 of 14

The Bolds they get are unlocked. Testing our custom apps on one with my regular ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    BBWrangler's Avatar
    BBWrangler no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    219DFD90
    Posts
    212

    Thumbs up It's good to have a Hong Kong Office

    Advertisement



    The Bolds they get are unlocked.

    Testing our custom apps on one with my regular AT&T SIM now.

    They get them from 3 in case anyone's planning a trip, BTW.

    It seems faster than OS 4.5.0.55 on my regular 8800, and streaming seems much better.

    Keyboard isn't nearly as horrid as I thought it would be. It's actually not bad. Still like the Curve's better, but it doesn't feel as cramped as the 8800's.

    Screen seems sharper, though it had some issues with xVid video, at least the ones I had on hand.
    It doesn't record video. Get over it.

  2. #2
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    Hi, I couldn't help it but did I hear there was a problem with xvid? Can you please check back with us regarding this issue? I'm really saving my money to get the storm for the xvid/divx compatibility. Thank you in advance.

  3. #3
    BBWrangler's Avatar
    BBWrangler no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    219DFD90
    Posts
    212
    Sure, I only had a couple of vids handy with me. I'll be trying more later.
    It doesn't record video. Get over it.

  4. #4
    furtive's Avatar
    furtive no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    7a47e9f3
    Posts
    400
    Can you find out where they got them in HK? I'm going in a few weeks awnd want to pick one up.

  5. #5
    KChuck's Avatar
    KChuck no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    35
    All carriers in HK have Bold in stock. Just need to get their phone numbers ready through google and call them up while you're in HK, or alternatively grab somebody and ask where are the nearest outlet. Searched through their websites, seems PCCW is the cheapest.

    3 Hong Kong
    Smartone-Vodafone (handheld locked)
    PCCW Mobile
    CSL 1010
    Last edited by KChuck; 09-26-2008 at 02:11 PM.

  6. #6
    atleastzero's Avatar
    atleastzero no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    2420565A
    Posts
    174
    I had no idea it would be able to play xvid! That's quite a thing to learn.
    www.ATLEASTZERO.com -~- my WebComic
    PIN: 2420565A -~- T-Mo 8320 4.5.0.52

  7. #7
    artty's Avatar
    artty no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    Hey BBWrangler, just wondering did you just straight out buy the BB ?

  8. #8
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Nice!
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  9. #9
    BBWrangler's Avatar
    BBWrangler no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    219DFD90
    Posts
    212
    furtive: I'll see if I can find out if they went to a store or just called in the order.

    atleastzero: It's having some issues with xvid, actually. Trying regular divx files to see if it's just the first files I tried.

    artty: Yes, the folks in our HK office bought it and sent it over for us to test with. So, I'm testing!
    I popped in my AT&T SIM since I know the roaming charges from using the 3 SIM would be well... you know how on TV they ask the little kid to point out where the bad man touched them?

    I should probably add tethering temporarily to see if the 3G signal I'm getting on it also works for that.
    It doesn't record video. Get over it.

  10. #10
    artty's Avatar
    artty no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    just wondering, in hk for 123 they have the bb plan and the smartphone plan. Is the BB plan necessary, IMO i think its just for the push email. Otherwise, bb messenger can be used on regular data...would anybody know ?

  11. #11
    BBWrangler's Avatar
    BBWrangler no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    219DFD90
    Posts
    212
    Hmm. As the specs indicate, the XVid & Divx support is partial, indeed.

    Audio for the most part seems fine, but it doesn't like Divx 5 or 6. Plays Divx 4 just fine (youtube videos dl'ed via vixy.net work for example).

    Xvid so far hasn't actually played with the files I've got on my laptop. I'll need to check those with GSpot to see which variant the files I tried are using after work. Audio plays fine for most of these as well.

    OK. Tried a file using Xvid 1.1.0 final, that worked very well.
    Last edited by BBWrangler; 09-30-2008 at 05:17 PM. Reason: New info.

  12. #12
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    Wish I was going to Hong Kong! LOL
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  13. #13
    raton's Avatar
    raton no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    7BF68784
    Posts
    5,730
    Quote Originally Posted by BBWrangler View Post
    Hmm. As the specs indicate, the XVid & Divx support is partial, indeed.

    Audio for the most part seems fine, but it doesn't like Divx 5 or 6. Plays Divx 4 just fine (youtube videos dl'ed via vixy.net work for example).

    Xvid so far hasn't actually played with the files I've got on my laptop. I'll need to check those with GSpot to see which variant the files I tried are using after work. Audio plays fine for most of these as well.

    OK. Tried a file using Xvid 1.1.0 final, that worked very well.
    Hi BBWrangler, Thank you for the update. So, only divx4 formats will run on this? I ask because this is a big factor on me choosing to go with the Storm. I hope the storm reads all divx files including ffshow/mpeg/svcds/vcd formats as well. It does say AVI wich makes me wonder why some files are not being read.

    I really hope the final firmware allows for all these files to play without an exception. I got a whole bunch of files i'd like to view on my bb. Once again, thanks for the update.

  14. #14
    BBWrangler's Avatar
    BBWrangler no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    219DFD90
    Posts
    212
    Seems to be the particular codec used that's the deciding factor.
    So far, I haven't found any files using Divx5/6 that will play video.

    xvid support also seems limited to older versions, but I've got some more files to test there.
    It doesn't record video. Get over it.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •