Results 1 to 10 of 10

I am attempting to install .221, but for some reason when I run the install ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    Naylor07's Avatar
    Naylor07 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ECE99
    Posts
    337

    Issue installing new OS

    Advertisement



    I am attempting to install .221, but for some reason when I run the install file in Vista 64 bit, I get an error about initializing the file. Same thing occurs in Windows 7 Beta. Anyone have any suggestions? Or should I just load it up on my laptop with XP?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    I would suggest doing it via your laptop with XP. I only say this because I have seen other post of issues with Vista 64.

  3. #3
    rajafarhan's Avatar
    rajafarhan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    20F44149
    Posts
    484
    It won't work on windows 7 beta. I tried it on that and got some error. Windows xp is the best option.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Raja's got a point there... 7 is beta... Still unreliable... Go with the laptop xp option... Haven't tried 64 bit, but vista 32 worked just fine with me...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  5. #5
    Naylor07's Avatar
    Naylor07 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ECE99
    Posts
    337
    Yeah, I figured that about Windows 7 beta. Kind of annoying that Vista 64 bit won't do it even after it has been out this long.

  6. #6
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Maybe sp2 for vista will do the trick... Its due sometime soon from what I've read... Infact its in beta trials right now... Maybe try that out n let us know...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Quote Originally Posted by Naylor07 View Post
    Yeah, I figured that about Windows 7 beta. Kind of annoying that Vista 64 bit won't do it even after it has been out this long.
    Honestly, I'm not surprised.

  8. #8
    arixc's Avatar
    arixc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    Earlier this week I've updated my bold os. I'm also on Vista 64 (wich by the way, rocks!) and I've encountered an error with the insallation of the update, a problem extracting some .msi file. Don't know if this is exactly your problem but it seems like it.
    The solution for me was simply re download the file and voila! installed and upgraded my bold without any other trouble.

    Hope this helps

  9. #9
    Naylor07's Avatar
    Naylor07 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ECE99
    Posts
    337
    I have re-downloaded the file several times, not sure what is wrong. I do love Vista 64 (I have ultimate), but I guess I will have to go to trusty XP for this one.

  10. #10
    arixc's Avatar
    arixc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5
    Try downloading same os version from other vendor?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •