Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

As a matter of practicality, we're going back and forth between profiles depending upon the ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297

    Handy Tip For Bold Owners

    Advertisement



    As a matter of practicality, we're going back and forth between profiles depending upon the environment we're in.
    For example, while in a business meeting or the theater, our handhelds are usually put on vibrate.
    The 7xx series had a very handy time-saving short cut which enabled one to depress and hold the # button while exiting the theater or meeting, and your device would be restored to the previous profile.
    RIM hasn't provided for this great feature on the 8x series, and I don't know why.
    Enjoy it on your Bold

  2. #2
    krosli's Avatar
    krosli no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    747101D2
    Posts
    539
    That is an interesting find. Thank you for that.

  3. #3
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    Quote Originally Posted by Berryadict View Post
    As a matter of practicality, we're going back and forth between profiles depending upon the environment we're in.
    For example, while in a business meeting or the theater, our handhelds are usually put on vibrate.
    The 7xx series had a very handy time-saving short cut which enabled one to depress and hold the # button while exiting the theater or meeting, and your device would be restored to the previous profile.
    RIM hasn't provided for this great feature on the 8x series, and I don't know why.
    Enjoy it on your Bold
    I THINK it was possible with the Curve with 4.2, but lost it in 4.5. I think, not sure though.

    But the Pearl has it for sure, my girlfriend uses it all the time. And so do I, now that I'm on my Bold

  4. #4
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    It's a really great feature, and I miss it on my Curve

  5. #5
    bmanley's Avatar
    bmanley no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    803
    I don't have a Bold yet. Are you say the Bold has this?

  6. #6
    in4am0spun's Avatar
    in4am0spun no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ABA5D2
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by ssnxp View Post
    I THINK it was possible with the Curve with 4.2, but lost it in 4.5. I think, not sure though.
    Well the 4.5 Deff doesnt have it, I just tried and it calls "#" and then call fails

  7. #7
    malejko's Avatar
    malejko no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    68
    ... works on the 8900 still.

  8. #8
    offthahorseceo's Avatar
    offthahorseceo no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    24A2AD7C
    Posts
    1,562
    NICE FIND!! apparently i cant give you trust but i would if i could

  9. #9
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    Quote Originally Posted by offthahorseceo View Post
    NICE FIND!! apparently i cant give you trust but i would if i could
    Thanks, ceo. Much appreciated. Hope this provided something positive...

  10. #10
    ericjackson's Avatar
    ericjackson no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    PM Me
    Posts
    207
    never had a curve, but worked on my pearl 4.2 and 4.5. so it was expected on the bold. weird that the curve didnt have it

  11. #11
    Hack173's Avatar
    Hack173 no está en línea banned
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    249E4D70
    Posts
    2,694
    Thank You for the tip!

  12. #12
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    Thanks for the great tip, definitely something that I can see myself using day to day.

    ~via Blackberry Bold (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    sbs8331's Avatar
    sbs8331 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    80
    Wow, if you learn something new everyday, I just got my quota. A very handy tip. Thanks!

  14. #14
    stnkyq2's Avatar
    stnkyq2 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    IMTHTG
    Posts
    780
    Quote Originally Posted by in4am0spun View Post
    Well the 4.5 Deff doesnt have it, I just tried and it calls "#" and then call fails
    Disable "dial from the home screen", and it will work!

    Change the settings:

    Go to your call log and hit your menu button (left of the trackball).
    Go to Options> General Options> Dial from Home Screen> Change to No.
    Once you have done this select save and give it a try again!

    Never mind it does not matter on the BOLD; it works regardless if it is disabled or not!
    Last edited by stnkyq2; 01-16-2009 at 11:12 AM.
    "A clear cut vision is the best path to success.. persistence is the vehicle you arrive in..." -Rev. Run

    Crackberry @ddict for LIFE..........

  15. #15
    jzarowitz's Avatar
    jzarowitz no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    NexsOne
    Posts
    724
    its listed in the speed dial list under 'Q'. its labeled as Change profile to _______ you cant change it to another key.

    handy feature tho.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •