Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hi Stackers, now i've got my new exchange Bold and it seems to work better ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    peterthill's Avatar
    peterthill no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    281860C8
    Posts
    733

    Error while saving the database

    Advertisement



    Hi Stackers,

    now i've got my new exchange Bold and it seems to work better as the old one.

    But the thing is when I try to do a backup:

    Error while saving the database

    And the whole backup fails.

    Here are the steps that I ry to resolve that mess:

    - De- and reinstall of DM 4.6.0.12
    - De- and reinstall of Firmware 4.6.0.126 from TMO Germany (The official one)
    - Did a clean setup of the FW on the Bold

    Also i tried the most of the tips from the BlackBerry Support Page: Doc ID : KB02048

    And now I don't have any other ideas. It would be great if anyone could help out.

    TIA
    Peter
    Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery

  2. #2
    Capdot's Avatar
    Capdot no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,958
    I've read that deleting all your browser history and cache works for other people. Also I was having this Same issue and after days and days of trying new things I noticd my bookmarks were not working anymore so I deleted them and thought maybe this was the reason why I wasn't able to back up and voila it worked and I haven't had that issue again.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    peterthill's Avatar
    peterthill no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    281860C8
    Posts
    733
    Thx fpr the reply.

    But that didn't work. Sometimes the Error occurs after saving the Tasks, Attachement Data, SMS Messages

    Peter
    Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Peter, it should give you an indication of what database it is attempting to back up at the time it fails. See if you can tell which one it's on when you get the error message.

    Cheers,
    Roger

  5. #5
    peterthill's Avatar
    peterthill no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    281860C8
    Posts
    733
    I did

    If you have a look in the post above: Sometimes the Error occurs after saving the Tasks, Attachement Data, SMS Messages.

    Peter
    Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Yes, I saw that, but wasn't sure!

    You might need to use the Advanced backup and clear out each database until you can get it to run through completely. When's the last successful backup? You could end up losing some data this way, but it's probably the only way you're going to get it to work. Then you could restore the data for whatever databases you had to clear from your last successful backup.

    Roger

  7. #7
    peterthill's Avatar
    peterthill no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    281860C8
    Posts
    733
    No chance

    I deleted every database via the advanced Oprions where the error coours.

    With ervery deleted database the backup was going a step further. Until now: It crashes while saving the 'Message List Options' On the device is this database empty but when I copy it to the PC it has on entry.

    And now its reproducable. It always stuck while the Message List Options.


    Peter
    Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery

  8. #8
    peterthill's Avatar
    peterthill no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    281860C8
    Posts
    733
    It seems to be working. Perhaps I made a crazy move:

    Backuped my 8310 and it worked fine.
    Restored the Backup to the Bold.
    Backuped the Bold ans it seems to work.

    Ok, now I lost four Days of eMails and SMS but I can live with that (I hope so )

    Thx for the Tipps Roger and Capdot.

    Peter
    Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Glad you got it to work, Peter!

  10. #10
    djradman36's Avatar
    djradman36 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11
    i'm having the same problem with my phone, it does stop and says error when it gets to "message list options", any fix with this? dont have my old phone to go back to anymore.

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    dj,

    When in Desktop Manager, go to Backup>Advanced. The device database list will populate on the right side of the screen. Scroll down to Message List Optios, highlight it, then press Clear. Then try the backup again.

    Hope this helps!

    Roger

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •