Results 1 to 13 of 13

A few days ago I was working on my sisters car and I think I ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    cmybimmer's Avatar
    cmybimmer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    13

    contacts

    Advertisement



    A few days ago I was working on my sisters car and I think I layed over my phone while I was down there. After I was done working on the car, I checked my phone and all my contacts were lost. I couldnt find them for the life of me. I do however have the most important numbers on my SIM. BUT when I tried to move my contacts from the SIM to the phonebook, it would do nothing. It looks as if a note tries to pop out, but it barely stays on for a few milliseconds. I couldnt see what it says. So I cant copy the contacts to the phonebook OR save any other numbers.

    Anyone knows what mightve happened? Thx

  2. #2
    pigigi's Avatar
    pigigi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    21688558
    Posts
    102
    I bet they're still there. It's pretty hard to wipe all of your contacts and that's it.

    Go to your address book, then go to options-filter. Check to see if you turned a filter on or off. I bet that's it.

    Let me know what happens.

  3. #3
    cmybimmer's Avatar
    cmybimmer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by pigigi View Post
    I bet they're still there. It's pretty hard to wipe all of your contacts and that's it.

    Go to your address book, then go to options-filter. Check to see if you turned a filter on or off. I bet that's it.

    Let me know what happens.
    Nope, I tried that too. It only has the options of business and personal. Both of em are empty.

    OH! And I just realized that the phone DOES have the numbers SOMEWHERE. Although I cannot find them and/or see them in my SIM phonebook, when I get texts/calls from ppl that are not in the SIM phonebook, it shows their name/caller I'd. So I'm thinking the phone has em stored somewhere else. Its pissing me off tho and need/want it back asap. Any help wud be greatly appreciated

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    When you say your contacts are missing, are you talking about the folder itself, or is the folder visible with nothing in it?

    If the folder is missing, from your home screen, press the BB menu button and select Show All. Could be you inadvertently hid the folder.

  5. #5
    cmybimmer's Avatar
    cmybimmer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    13
    No the folder is there, but the contacts are missing. When id click the folder, it just says *No Contacts*, yet when I get calls/texts it shows their names. Its really annoying

  6. #6
    pigigi's Avatar
    pigigi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    21688558
    Posts
    102
    Are business and personal both unchecked in the filter?

  7. #7
    cmybimmer's Avatar
    cmybimmer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    13
    No, the business is checked as of now, but even when i switch to personal, its still empty... Im so confused right now...

  8. #8
    boricua's Avatar
    boricua no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    152
    ALT+RBLD within the Address book list will force a data structure rebuild. Try it out and let us know what happens.

  9. #9
    getsugatensho's Avatar
    getsugatensho no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,194
    Quote Originally Posted by cmybimmer View Post
    No, the business is checked as of now, but even when i switch to personal, its still empty... Im so confused right now...
    Do you have general contacts option? If not do you have the option to not select either one. The check is what's filtering your numbers. If you don't have anybody in your phonebook set into one of those categories and you click it, it'll show "no contacts".

  10. #10
    cmybimmer's Avatar
    cmybimmer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by boricua View Post
    ALT+RBLD within the Address book list will force a data structure rebuild. Try it out and let us know what happens.
    Thx, but didnt work...
    Quote Originally Posted by getsugatensho View Post
    Do you have general contacts option? If not do you have the option to not select either one. The check is what's filtering your numbers. If you don't have anybody in your phonebook set into one of those categories and you click it, it'll show "no contacts".
    WINNER! I guess my contacts were in neither of the profiles (business/personal). I "unchecked" business rather than just checking personal and all my contacts came back. I feel like an idiot cuz that was so easy. Well, thx for all your patience!!!

  11. #11
    getsugatensho's Avatar
    getsugatensho no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,194
    Lol glad I could help. Everybody deserves a brain fart once in a while lol.

  12. #12
    cmybimmer's Avatar
    cmybimmer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by getsugatensho View Post
    Lol glad I could help. Everybody deserves a brain fart once in a while lol.
    Yes, but I had a brain fart for a LOOONGGG time haha. Thx again.

  13. #13
    BoldMDP's Avatar
    BoldMDP no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    PIN/ID
    24A6F01C
    Posts
    21
    Going out on a limb here but. I would install the BB Desktop Manager and seeing if you can backup your contacts. Under Advanced Backup you can select Contacts, and generally it will Say Contacts - xnumberofcontacts. If it says 0 well I suggest you start waving the white flag lol.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •