Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Here, to celebrate my 2,000th post on the stacks I decided to do a little ... BlackBerry Bold forum

PIN/ID
    AskMe

Post A comprehensive guide to buying and setting up your new BB Bold 9000

Advertisement

Here, to celebrate my 2,000th post on the stacks I decided to do a little write up of the steps i always do whenever I get a new blackberry and in this case the Blackberry Bold 9000.

First off, buying the Bold.
    Since some of you already know i work in the wireless industry i am going to give you some insider knowledge about buying your new Bold.
    First of all, always try to deal with Corporate Stores.
    The way it works in Canada (im not sure about the US but i would assume its the same) is that whenever a corporate store gets a blackberry returned to them be it on "buyer's remorse" or "faulty", they have to and MUST return the Blackberry to either carrier they represent and write it off their inventory.
    If you go to a reseller, they allow themselves the right to check the phone, reset it and sell it as brand new.
    Outrageous but true.
    Therefore, my big advice is : Whenever you are buying a Blackberry, always request a sealed box to be opened in front of you if you want the clerk to set it up - or a sealed box to take home if you know what you are doing.

Next, unboxing.
    My next step is whenever i get home, I do a thorough unboxing and go through every single little detail to make sure everything is there and nothing is missing/deffective.
    Next I take the unit in hand and carefully look over it to make sure nothing is loose, cracked etc... (believe me ive seen Curve's BRAND NEW with a cracked screen STRAIGHT OUT OF THE BOX).

Next, powering it on and updating it.
    After a thorough unit examination I then proceed on powering on the device and making sure the keys and other buttons/trackball work correctly.

After that, I plug my device to my computer.