Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

I have a Rogers Bold, running on the AT&T network. Tomorrow I will be purchasing ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996

    Comparison: AT&T vs Rogers Bold

    Advertisement



    I have a Rogers Bold, running on the AT&T network. Tomorrow I will be purchasing an AT&T Bold. Based on what I've heard from my sources, a little common sense and past experience, I expect the AT&T Bold to provide a superior experience. I started this thread to invite others who also have the Rogers Bold and will be getting an AT&T Bold to check in here and share your experience and opinions on these two versions of the Bold.

    Cheers!


  2. #2
    Ge's Avatar
    Ge
    Ge no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    738
    Why would the AT&T Bold be better?

    From what I can see, the Rogers one has red numbers (okay it is cosmetic)
    But it also has the option to choose 2G vs 3G, the AT&T does not.

    All things being equal, isn't the difference in the firmware?

  3. #3
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by Ge View Post
    Why would the AT&T Bold be better?
    My post said "I expect the AT&T Bold to provide a superior experience." I did not say that the AT&T Bold is better than the Rogers Bold. Nor did I talk about the cosmetic appearance, or differences of the two phones. So, that clarified, why would it provide a better experience? Simple, RIM worked closely with AT&T (as it did with Rogers) to optimize the Bold for the AT&T network. Therefore the software and firmware being designed specifically for AT&T will insure that it functions at the highest and best level of performance.

    The reason I started this thread was to invite owners of both devices to talk about their real world experience. As often times the differences between reading about the various aspects of each unit will be quite different than the actual user experience. It's like buying a new car. There is quite a difference between reading the road tests, looking at the spec sheets and actually driving the car. So it goes with so many products. Thus I believe that we will see some very interesting comparisons here. As well as reading the various users opinions. Something that speaking for myself, I always enjoy and learn from.


  4. #4
    macallik's Avatar
    macallik no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    874
    My ATT Bold is great. No issues, everything running smoothly. Good luck tomorrow archer

  5. #5
    joewoo's Avatar
    joewoo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    22CF1F2F
    Posts
    492
    I'm very interested...

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    DoubleDizzle's Avatar
    DoubleDizzle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    43
    i guess the OP has a point, but the same could be said if someone had an AT&T device on the Rogers network - it's clearly designed for each networks capabilities.

    if the option to turn 3G off and switch to 2G isn't available on the AT&T models, that sucks. i generally have my Bold set to 2G, as i've been finding that 3G kills the battery. i'll only switch to 3G before i open the browser.

    for those of you on the AT&T Bold already, which themes came/come pre-loaded on the device? i was really disappointed that there were only two options on the Rogers model, and they're essentially the same, except one has colours in the icons, the other doesn't.

    where is the Today theme? or the Zen theme? i'd prefer to have some options for my device...

  7. #7
    EricScott's Avatar
    EricScott no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDizzle View Post

    for those of you on the AT&T Bold already, which themes came/come pre-loaded on the device? i was really disappointed that there were only two options on the Rogers model, and they're essentially the same, except one has colours in the icons, the other doesn't.
    Same on AT&T - 2 themes: precision silver and precision AT&T....look the same to me except the AT&T icons are a little more colorful and the background images are different (but I change that anyway). Also there are some different folders on the AT&T them (e.g. AT&T Mall, Music, etc) I am using precision silver as I have historically hated AT&T themes.

  8. #8
    DoubleDizzle's Avatar
    DoubleDizzle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by EricScott View Post
    Same on AT&T - 2 themes: precision silver and precision AT&T....look the same to me except the AT&T icons are a little more colorful and the background images are different (but I change that anyway). Also there are some different folders on the AT&T them (e.g. AT&T Mall, Music, etc) I am using precision silver as I have historically hated AT&T themes.
    you & me both.
    any idea if the European Bolds got different themes on their release?
    where's my Vodafone theme? i feel so lost without it. first time in two years i haven't had a Vodafone theme on my BlackBerry...


  9. #9
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    AT&T themes & software is to be expected. All carriers do this, its no big deal. I never use them. Just delete it and move forward, easy.

  10. #10
    DoubleDizzle's Avatar
    DoubleDizzle no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    43
    my point was simply the lack of options - don't believe there's the .alx file to modify to open up the other themes, as it's apparent that only two themes were created for the Bold.

    • Precision (insert carrier here)
    • Precision silver

  11. #11
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDizzle View Post
    my point was simply the lack of options - don't believe there's the .alx file to modify to open up the other themes, as it's apparent that only two themes were created for the Bold.
    Oh, I understand and I agree, I was not being critical of your post, just mentioning what I do, as they are all self serving themes for each carrier....


  12. #12
    jscottbarnes's Avatar
    jscottbarnes no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    No-More
    Posts
    1,273
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDizzle View Post
    my point was simply the lack of options - don't believe there's the .alx file to modify to open up the other themes, as it's apparent that only two themes were created for the Bold.

    • Precision (insert carrier here)
    • Precision silver
    I think that there is an .alx file... there is a thread already posted here showing them unlocked.... I'll try to find it for you.

    It is really just a change of backgrounds from the differing carriers however... no real style changes - - -


    ------------
    ~ jscott
    iPhone 3G & BOLD



  13. #13
    GregGebhardt's Avatar
    GregGebhardt no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    No Way
    Posts
    680
    Quote Originally Posted by jscottbarnes View Post
    I think that there is an .alx file... there is a thread already posted here showing them unlocked.... I'll try to find it for you.

    It is really just a change of backgrounds from the differing carriers however... no real style changes - - -
    the at&t comes with two themes. The AT&T one and then the same that was on my Rogers. There simply are not alot of themes out there yet. BUT, with the release of the AT&T Bold, I hope to see some but I will stick to the one I am used too.

  14. #14
    HyperM3's Avatar
    HyperM3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    451
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ is there any way to make the icons smaller? Between them and the top notification bar, there's hardly any room for a wallpaper image.

  15. #15
    joewoo's Avatar
    joewoo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    22CF1F2F
    Posts
    492
    Nope... Well... Maybe with a custom theme... I think the icons are too big too... But, I'm not too big on wallpaper images...

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •