Results 1 to 10 of 10

So I've been poking around my Bold's escreens trying to enable UMA to no avail, ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    michaelk's Avatar
    michaelk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    47

    Question Can someone explain why Bold isn't UMA capable?

    Advertisement



    So I've been poking around my Bold's escreens trying to enable UMA to no avail, which leads me to ask: why is it that this phone is incapable of having UMA? Is it because of something hard-ware based or because of the TCP/IP stack embedded in the firmware?

  2. #2
    Thyth's Avatar
    Thyth no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    273
    There is no UMA support in the firmware. Without that, you're pretty much out of luck.
    Need an eScreen code? Try my generator: http://absolous.wavegap.com/projects/escreen/

  3. #3
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Its capable, you will have to do some research and hacking of the firmware. The reason why is because TMO is the only carrier that has it in their firmwares.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    michaelk's Avatar
    michaelk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    47
    Rogers (my carrier) also has a UMA service, so I'm surprised to see it disabled. It's so odd that RIM seems to come soo close to producing a great product, only to hamstring it. I think my next toy is going to be an HTC Snap with Blackberry App Suite. I'm a little tired of RIM's antics... Is it so hard to just sell a good product?

  5. #5
    GregGebhardt's Avatar
    GregGebhardt no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    No Way
    Posts
    680
    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187 View Post
    Its capable, you will have to do some research and hacking of the firmware. The reason why is because TMO is the only carrier that has it in their firmwares.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Good luck on hacking into Blackberry's firmware!

    If we could do that, alot of our wishes would be met
    Greg
    in Jax, FL

  6. #6
    gatechfireblade's Avatar
    gatechfireblade no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    192
    Quote Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
    Rogers (my carrier) also has a UMA service, so I'm surprised to see it disabled. It's so odd that RIM seems to come soo close to producing a great product, only to hamstring it. I think my next toy is going to be an HTC Snap with Blackberry App Suite. I'm a little tired of RIM's antics... Is it so hard to just sell a good product?
    WinMo = horrible. Now when the bb application suite hits symbian, I think imma have to make a hard decision.....
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Isnt it because 3G and UMA dont work well together ?
    That has been the talk since the Bold came out.
    Every UMA BB out there is EDGE only.
    I could be wrong though.

  8. #8
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Quote Originally Posted by GregGebhardt View Post
    Good luck on hacking into Blackberry's firmware!

    If we could do that, alot of our wishes would be met
    There's a site out there that has done this. Basically taking the needed files and adding them to your current firmware. Basically a hybrid. I'm not saying it's easy, but it is possible.

  9. #9
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
    Rogers (my carrier) also has a UMA service, so I'm surprised to see it disabled. It's so odd that RIM seems to come soo close to producing a great product, only to hamstring it. I think my next toy is going to be an HTC Snap with Blackberry App Suite. I'm a little tired of RIM's antics... Is it so hard to just sell a good product?
    You're not the only one who is going to WinMo when the chance comes. Just need to decide what device I want, Sprint's Treo Pro or (if it's still available) T-Mo's Wing.


  10. #10
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by gatechfireblade View Post
    WinMo = horrible. Now when the bb application suite hits symbian, I think imma have to make a hard decision.....
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    It's not really that bad at all. I'm looking forward to when it hits WM.


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •