Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Has anyone heard that Bold Sim cards are different from others? I complained to Rogers ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    thinkadam's Avatar
    thinkadam no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    8

    Bold Sim card different from others?

    Advertisement



    Has anyone heard that Bold Sim cards are different from others?
    I complained to Rogers that my battery isnt lasting long enough and they insist its because im using my older sim card from my previous curve.
    They claim it affects the battery, call quality and even causes java errors (which I do get)
    Is such a thing possible? If so, ill upgrade the sim to at least get a full day battery.
    Comments appreciated.
    thanks.

  2. #2
    KriK's Avatar
    KriK no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    228
    The bold, unlike your previous curves, is 3g and this makes it harder for your old sim cards to "keep up". Unfortunately the Rogers CS that you contacted is misinformed in that the sim card being 2g instead of 3g wouldn't necessarily drain your battery. It will affect your connectivity and network speed.

    If I were you I would swap the sim card anyways and then try the Bold for a couple of days and see what happens. You will probably have the same problems but then at least you can call in and say you've tried their way now you want a swap.

    Hope this helps,

    Krik
    I believe in paying for quality products!
    Support PinStack.com by getting a premium membership.
    Click HERE for your membership options

  3. #3
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    Quote Originally Posted by KriK
    . . .sim card being 2g instead of 3g wouldn't necessarily drain your battery. It will affect your connectivity and network speed.
    But if your connectivity is bad, your BB will spend more time checking in with the towers, using power, therefore decreasing battery life.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  4. #4
    nemo2xg's Avatar
    nemo2xg no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    58
    a different sim card? that doesnt make sense

  5. #5
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    Quote Originally Posted by nemo2xg View Post
    a different sim card? that doesnt make sense
    There is a difference in SIM Cards. Earlier SIMs worked on 2G (EDGE/GPRS) but wouldn't handle 3G.

    Rcbjr
    Last edited by Rcbjr; 01-29-2009 at 10:08 PM.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  6. #6
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    When I bought my Bold last week at AT&T, the rep told me I had to get a new SIM too. ~via 9000 (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    darryl71's Avatar
    darryl71 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    716
    Quote Originally Posted by thinkadam View Post
    Has anyone heard that Bold Sim cards are different from others?
    I complained to Rogers that my battery isnt lasting long enough and they insist its because im using my older sim card from my previous curve.
    They claim it affects the battery, call quality and even causes java errors (which I do get)
    Is such a thing possible? If so, ill upgrade the sim to at least get a full day battery.
    Comments appreciated.
    thanks.
    Hey there,
    I have rogers too and they are checking to make sure that you are using the most recent SIM card, I think they call it the 4000 series. If you are using the old SIM it can affect the performance of your device and network.

    If you call them they can tell by the serial number of the SIM.

    Hope that helps !

  8. #8
    SoarinEagles's Avatar
    SoarinEagles no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    78
    Darryl is correct.
    the 3G SIM card# should look like 893027204000......... hence why they call it the 4000 series sim card.
    You do in fact require the new SIM card.
    I went through the same thing with Rogers

  9. #9
    dlsolo's Avatar
    dlsolo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    457
    I'm still using the same SIM card that i originally had back with I first purchased my Pearl. I've got from the Pearl to the Curve, now to a Bold. I've not had any 3G problems with my Bold since I made the transition. I'm using a 890141032000...... SIM card at this time.

  10. #10
    drjamie03's Avatar
    drjamie03 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    214
    I temporarily used my Bold sim card on my 8820 without any problems. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    thinkadam's Avatar
    thinkadam no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    8
    Did you see a difference once you upgraded on Rogers?

  12. #12
    darryl71's Avatar
    darryl71 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    716
    Get Rogers to send you a new SIM card and try it out anyway.

  13. #13
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Quote Originally Posted by drjamie03 View Post
    I temporarily used my Bold sim card on my 8820 without any problems. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I think that the Bold SIM will work on any phone for that carrier, the way it was explained to me is that an older SIM will not work properly in a Bold:e.g. the Bold wont have the 3G capabilities.

  14. #14
    dlsolo's Avatar
    dlsolo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    457
    I'm tellin' you, I rock the 3G with no problems....

  15. #15
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Hmmmm. Well at least I got a new SIM-lol~via Bold~

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •