Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Hi, I don't know if anyone else has the same problem, but this is the ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995

    Bold Problem :(

    Advertisement



    Hi,

    I don't know if anyone else has the same problem, but this is the second time or so this has happened to me.

    I would do a battery pull because something on my phone wouldn't be working right. (The first time, I was somewhere that had reception, but was getting a SOS signal. The second time, I deleted Facebook to try to reinstall it because I wasn't getting any notifications.)

    Anyhow, when I turned did a battery pull the first time, I got an error message that said.

    Uncaught exception:java.lang.NullPointerException
    Clicked OK
    Uncaught exception:java.lang.Error
    Clicked OK
    Uncaught exception:ApplicationRegistry.wait
    Clicked OK
    For (0x7491f766ae80681a)timeout
    Clicked OK

    The error messages looped once more and I had to do another battery pull.

    The reason why I would do another battery pull is because half of my icons were missing, particularly the call log, bbm and some other ones.

    Could it be the SIM?

    Also, I have another problem. I have been trying to go on www.pinstack.com from my bold. I am never able to get on and I keep on getting an error message that says "The XML is not well-formed." I can't even get on PS from Viigo. :'(

    What do I do?
    Last edited by Kyo0tdemon; 11-10-2008 at 06:19 PM.

  2. #2
    bigblue95z's Avatar
    bigblue95z no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    113
    I've gotten the error message that you got but have only got it to occur one time after a battery pull. But also today I picked it up after being on my desk and it was locked up. No buttons responded, no backlight. Had to do a battery pull. I'm regretting getting this piece.

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    demon,

    You might try 1) resend your service books 2) Reinstall BBM and missing app's using desktop manager.

    Also FYI I no longer recommend that users do a battery pull without first powering down the device. It has proven to be potentially damaging and may have unpredictable results.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyo0tdemon View Post
    Hi,

    I don't know if anyone else has the same problem, but this is the second time or so this has happened to me.

    I would do a battery pull because something on my phone wouldn't be working right. (The first time, I was somewhere that had reception, but was getting a SOS signal. The second time, I deleted Facebook to try to reinstall it because I wasn't getting any notifications.)

    Anyhow, when I turned did a battery pull the first time, I got an error message that said.

    Uncaught exception:java.lang.NullPointerException
    Clicked OK
    Uncaught exception:java.lang.Error
    Clicked OK
    Uncaught exception:ApplicationRegistry.wait
    Clicked OK
    For (0x7491f766ae80681a)timeout
    Clicked OK

    The error messages looped once more and I had to do another battery pull.

    The reason why I would do another battery pull is because half of my icons were missing, particularly the call log, bbm and some other ones.

    Could it be the SIM?

    Also, I have another problem. I have been trying to go on www.pinstack.com from my bold. I am never able to get on and I keep on getting an error message that says "The XML is not well-formed." I can't even get on PS from Viigo. :'(

    What do I do?
    Those errors used to occur on my Bold before i upgraded to the latest OS so thats my advice. Latest OS.

    As far as the XML error i used to get it on my Bold too until i figured it out.
    You are getting it because you are going through the Pinstack launcher right ?
    On my Bold the pinstack launcher actually launches the website through the "Rogers Mall" browser instead of the "Internet Browser" and thats when i get the Error.
    Now when i launch the browser by itself then type the pinstack address it works just fine!

    Good luck!

  5. #5
    SGZrazberry's Avatar
    SGZrazberry no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    488
    I had the exact same same message re XML so I re-installed the OS on my phone...been fine since. This occurred after I updated from .162 to .167 so I downgraded and re-upgraded. No problems since. Hope this helps.

  6. #6
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995
    Thank you all for being very helpful, but here's the downfall. I'm a Mac user and thus, no access to DM for the time being. I know, I know, I need to get a PC, but for the time being, I only have a Mac. Is there a way to solve this by using ota links?

  7. #7
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    demon,

    You might try 1) resend your service books 2) Reinstall BBM and missing app's using desktop manager.

    Also FYI I no longer recommend that users do a battery pull without first powering down the device. It has proven to be potentially damaging and may have unpredictable results.
    Hi Gary, actually, when I do a battery pull, the missing icons return. I will however, try resending my service books right now.

  8. #8
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995
    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    Those errors used to occur on my Bold before i upgraded to the latest OS so thats my advice. Latest OS.

    As far as the XML error i used to get it on my Bold too until i figured it out.
    You are getting it because you are going through the Pinstack launcher right ?
    On my Bold the pinstack launcher actually launches the website through the "Rogers Mall" browser instead of the "Internet Browser" and thats when i get the Error.
    Now when i launch the browser by itself then type the pinstack address it works just fine!

    Good luck!
    I've tried accessing PS from Viigo, the Media Net browser and the standard browser. None of them work when I try to access PS. I still keep on getting the XML error.

  9. #9
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyo0tdemon View Post
    I don't know if anyone else has the same problem. I would do a battery pull because something on my phone wouldn't be working right. Anyhow, when I turned did a battery pull the first time, I got an error message that said.
    Uncaught exception:java.lang.NullPointerException

    Also, I have another problem. I have been trying to go on www.pinstack.com from my bold. I am never able to get on and I keep on getting an error message that says "The XML is not well-formed." I can't even get on PS from Viigo. :'(
    Quote Originally Posted by bigblue95z View Post
    I've gotten the error message that you got but have only got it to occur one time after a battery pull. But also today I picked it up after being on my desk and it was locked up. No buttons responded, no backlight. Had to do a battery pull. I'm regretting getting this piece.
    I experienced the same error message, on two of the three Bolds I've had. I manually deleted my service books, before resending them. Also as Gary suggested it is very wise to turn off the device first, then pull the battery. As far as the problem with the device being locked up, unfortunately I have had that problem as well. While a reset would fix it, the result was only temporary.

    And by the way, I tried the latest OS version, upgraded and downgraded to no avail.

    One thing's for sure I have had quite a long list of problems with the three Bolds. (not a complaint, it is what it is) I used both AT&T tech support chat, as well as calling in on five separate occasions, had my cases escalated to the highest level of tech support. Unfortunately it was only to have them tell me they were aware of the issues and had no fix. So, I've given up on the Bold experience for now. I'm taking a wait and see position as who knows, RIM may fix these issues. In that case I may try again. 3G is of great value to me.


  10. #10
    ccostel's Avatar
    ccostel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    132
    I had similar messages and missing Icons. I attributed it to my theme, so I deleted it and reinstalled it. Haven't had a problem since.

  11. #11
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995
    I guess no more battery pulls for me. I'm so used to battery pulls doing the trick as that is what I did on a daily basis (one or more times throughout the day) on my 8310 since it was always bugging up. Anyhow, I will delete all my service books (for emails) and try to reregister them. In the meantime, if anyone hears of anything to fix the problems I'm getting on my bold, I will be more than happy to try what you have heard. Do note however, if it requires me going on DM, that may be a problem as I only have a Mac at the time being. Also, any ota solutions would be greatfully appreciated. Thanks fellow stackers.

  12. #12
    joewoo's Avatar
    joewoo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    22CF1F2F
    Posts
    492
    Do a CLEAN install of the OS... I had those probs until I clean installed...

    On your mac, do u have OS 10.5?? you can try using boot camp and install windows onto a partition.. Then u can do OS upgrades/installs... U will need a copy of windows though...

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    demon,

    You can still perform a battery pull, just power down the device first. Removing the battery afterwards does complete the power down and is helpful....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  14. #14
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995
    Quote Originally Posted by joewoo View Post
    Do a CLEAN install of the OS... I had those probs until I clean installed...

    On your mac, do u have OS 10.5?? you can try using boot camp and install windows onto a partition.. Then u can do OS upgrades/installs... U will need a copy of windows though...

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Could you possibly give me step by step instructions? I'm a new Mac user. I know it doesn't help. Could you also tell me what programs specifically I would need to do a CLEAN install of the OS? Thanks in advance.

  15. #15
    joewoo's Avatar
    joewoo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    22CF1F2F
    Posts
    492
    Hmmm, I can't say I know the process to that level... Its one of thode thingd that required me to see what's on the computer screen...

    Do you have a copy of windows xp?

    And can u verify which mac OS u have? (Top left apple logo, about this mac)

    via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •