Results 1 to 8 of 8

This is the second time I've seen this happen to a Bold. has anyone experienced ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    dysfunctional's Avatar
    dysfunctional no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5

    Bold Messaging Errors

    Advertisement



    This is the second time I've seen this happen to a Bold. has anyone experienced the folowing?

    I have just rebuilt a Bold after nuking it, with V4.6 of the software. That workedo k and I have the user configured but now when I attempt to click into the email or SMS icons they do either of the following:

    *Let me in, then when I go back out, it won't let me back in again
    *Don't open at all
    * or give the following error and then open:

    Uncaught Exception: Application net_rim_bb_messaging_app (random number)
    is not responding; process terminated

    The first time this happened I nuked the device and rebuilt it twice but still no change.
    I ended up getting our supplier to replace it under warranty and now it's happening again.

    has anyone experienced this problem before, if so how do you fix it??

    Thanks

  2. #2
    calm_tiger's Avatar
    calm_tiger no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,418
    Sounds like your OS is really screwed up. If you didn't do a complete wipe before your last install you may want to try it now. Did your desktop manager indicate any errors after your last OS install was complete?
    ~via smartphone~

  3. #3
    dysfunctional's Avatar
    dysfunctional no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5
    That's the weird thing. I did a complete wipe.

    I'm using the Blackberry Manager service from the BES and then reimaging them using desktop manager.

    This is the only way I can do it as I can't get the BlackBerry Manager service to download the software package to the handheld

    It said that there were no errors.

  4. #4
    calm_tiger's Avatar
    calm_tiger no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,418
    Quote Originally Posted by dysfunctional View Post
    That's the weird thing. I did a complete wipe.

    I'm using the Blackberry Manager service from the BES and then reimaging them using desktop manager.

    This is the only way I can do it as I can't get the BlackBerry Manager service to download the software package to the handheld

    It said that there were no errors.
    Your'e right, it is weird. You did a complete wipe before the install. Hopefully, this isn't the beginning of a bad string of devices for you. You may have to make an attempt in getting this one replaced also. Just try not to become discouraged The BOLD is a great device.

  5. #5
    vvti's Avatar
    vvti no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2
    Why is a wipe needed before installing the OS?


    ~via smartphone~

  6. #6
    tigerbluemusic's Avatar
    tigerbluemusic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    167
    Quote Originally Posted by calm_tiger View Post
    Your'e right, it is weird. You did a complete wipe before the install. Hopefully, this isn't the beginning of a bad string of devices for you. You may have to make an attempt in getting this one replaced also. Just try not to become discouraged The BOLD is a great device.
    I have had my bold since sept 4th '08 and have recently started to experience this same error. However I CAN get in messages but sometimes when I try to download an e-mail attachment I get the previous message. I have also experienced this error when trying to refresh my library in a new app I installed - strands media player. I recently updated my os to the beta 4.6.0.218. Dunno whether this is the issue or whether anyone else has had problems with it. I belive there is another beta which I might try. Otherwise I might revert back to my carriers official os of .167.

  7. #7
    dysfunctional's Avatar
    dysfunctional no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by vvti View Post
    Why is a wipe needed before installing the OS?

    Reason behind this is because it was going from one user to another.

    ~via smartphone~
    Quote Originally Posted by tigerbluemusic View Post
    I have had my bold since sept 4th '08 and have recently started to experience this same error. However I CAN get in messages but sometimes when I try to download an e-mail attachment I get the previous message. I have also experienced this error when trying to refresh my library in a new app I installed - strands media player. I recently updated my os to the beta 4.6.0.218. Dunno whether this is the issue or whether anyone else has had problems with it. I belive there is another beta which I might try. Otherwise I might revert back to my carriers official os of .167.
    The stupid thing is I am actually using my carriers latest version (or so I thought).
    I might actually check to see if there is another one though

  8. #8
    360Challenge's Avatar
    360Challenge no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    186
    Try wiping the device then loading the os by going here

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •