Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 70

Ive had my Bold for quite a while now and Ive always had a problem ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106

    Bold keeps switching off

    Advertisement



    Ive had my Bold for quite a while now and Ive always had a problem with it turning itself off.

    Ive been keeping an eye out on these boards for anyone having similar problems, which there have been.

    Ive updated OS, downgraded OS, put card around the battery to stop it being loose and every other thing that anyone has ever mentioned.

    Still it keeps turning itself off. It does it probably 2 or 3 times a day.

    Can anyone offer any new advice?

    Janie

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Do you notice whether it happens while you're using it, like do you see it happen or do you just pick it up an notice that it's powered off? I ask because my daughter noticed her Curve turning itself off occasionally when she simply lays it down with a "soft bump." (Does that make sense?)

    I suspect a "loose connection" of some kind, maybe in a circuit board but she hasn't tried to replace it. You may just have a bad unit - if you can reproduce the problem, it might be time to take it back and ask for a new one.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    Hi, thanks for that. It does happen when its been put down, usually if its not been touched for say 15 minutes.

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Is there a holster (with a "sleep" magnet" involved? Is this a complete shutoff where you have to literally power up - i.e. takes some time to boot up? - or could it be a "lock" or "standby" of some sort?

    I'm not doubting what you say - just trying to make sure it's a true power off, and if so, does the Bold have any type of security option that allows it to power off after a certain time? (I'm not aware of that function on any BB but the new devices ARE a little different.)

    Honestly, I'm stumped unless you're dealing with a faulty handset.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    rajafarhan's Avatar
    rajafarhan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    20F44149
    Posts
    484
    Did you check the auto On/Off settings in the options?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    It is like a standby, I have to turn it back on but comes back to life pretty quickly. I will check the On/Off settings. Thanks

  7. #7
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    The only on/off settings I can find are the auto on/off which is all fine. To be honest, thinking about it, its quite random and sometimes it will go for a few hours and not turn off other times only 10 minutes

  8. #8
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    OK. Check your options to see if you have it set to "stand-by" or lock or ? after a few minutes.

    UPDATE: Well, at least it's not a power off. I don't know all the new options but I'd look for something that puts it on a stand-by/sleep mode after no activity. Is the variable in time possibly because of pushed email activity or some other things (that you don't check but never the less) that keeps it "active?"
    Last edited by jblackfish; 04-25-2009 at 11:01 AM.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  9. #9
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    Nope, tried everything cant find any setting for sleep mode or stand by.

  10. #10
    getsugatensho's Avatar
    getsugatensho no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,194
    Have you tried formatting your media card? It's a common problem that nobody thinks about until someone asks. Just my thoughts.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    Thanks, will try that now. Will I lose everything?

  12. #12
    getsugatensho's Avatar
    getsugatensho no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,194
    Quote Originally Posted by janie215 View Post
    Thanks, will try that now. Will I lose everything?
    Yes! Back up all your stuff on your pc first. Sorry, didn't mention that the first time. Let us know if it works.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  13. #13
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by getsugatensho View Post
    Yes! Back up all your stuff on your pc first. Sorry, didn't mention that the first time. Let us know if it works.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    I'll be curious to know if it works too Janie. That's a weird one I didn't know about. Good luck!
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  14. #14
    getsugatensho's Avatar
    getsugatensho no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,194
    Normally it happens when you upgrade with the card still in. But for me, I bought my pearl and put my card in and it worked for a week or so, then started turning off. My friends was doing the same thing, and he took it to our carrier, and they're actually the ones that thought of that. And that was my problem.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  15. #15
    janie215's Avatar
    janie215 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    256A910E
    Posts
    106
    Ok Im trying it now, will let you know

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •