Results 1 to 15 of 15

After a battery removal reset my bold freezes on a screen asking to confirm date ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    Byron43's Avatar
    Byron43 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    13

    Bold freezing

    Advertisement



    After a battery removal reset my bold freezes on a screen asking to confirm date and time. Will not accept any command after that screen comes on. It connects to the Desktop manager and I can open the folders in explorer. I have removed and replaced the battery more than 15 times and always freezes at the same screen.

  2. #2
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Hi Byron-how many 3rd party applications and themes do you have on it?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #3
    Byron43's Avatar
    Byron43 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    13
    No themes, face book and amazon

  4. #4
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Hmmm. Battery pull didn't work. That's strange. Did you just get it, or have you had it a while? And was it working properly before you put facebook on it? You may want to un-install both of those and re-install them and see if that helps.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  5. #5
    Byron43's Avatar
    Byron43 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    13
    5 months with the bold and same programs for last three months with no problems. Since it freezes on startup I can't unistall anything.

  6. #6
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    I don't know. Hopefully a device expert will chime in. Sorry I couldn't be of more help.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    What OS are you on? And also when that started happening?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  8. #8
    Byron43's Avatar
    Byron43 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    13
    I am using 162 because all newer OS would not let me tether. I was in a heavy rain shower and I suspect maybe some water got in as it was in my shirt pocket. I blow dried and it workrd fine yesterday and this morning when I turned it on it froze.

  9. #9
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    Try removing the sim and mem card and let the phone seat for while withou the batt and make shure you have unchecked the update time and date option in your DM...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  10. #10
    Byron43's Avatar
    Byron43 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thanks I'll try that.

  11. #11
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    if that doesn't work post back, ill look forward for an answer for ya
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  12. #12
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Also if you fear it got wet. While you have the battery and sim out try the rice trick.

    Take a bag of rice and wrap your device in a paper then place it in the bag. The rice will help draw out the moister if there is any still there. Hopefully the blow drier didn't damage it and you used a low/cool setting. Depending on how wet it may have gotten you may want to leave it in the rice a while.( like a few hours).

  13. #13
    Byron43's Avatar
    Byron43 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    13
    Did the rice and it still freezes on starup when it asks to confirm date. Reloaded OS and the same happens. Anyone think a clean sweep would help.

  14. #14
    Byron43's Avatar
    Byron43 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    13
    After 12 more hrs of drying in rice it now loads completely, but the 0 (zero) key won't work. Everything else seems ok but can't dial any # with a zero.

  15. #15
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    Quote Originally Posted by Byron43 View Post
    After 12 more hrs of drying in rice it now loads completely, but the 0 (zero) key won't work. Everything else seems ok but can't dial any # with a zero.
    ugh, give it some time?

    i dropped my curve in water (submerged) and it took 2 weeks to fully come back to normal. no damage, works perfectly again.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •