Results 1 to 7 of 7

Looks like the BOLD doesn't have a true standby mode like the previous BB's. When ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    DaddyFizzle's Avatar
    DaddyFizzle no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    28A34994
    Posts
    276

    BOLD AT&T Standby Mode

    Advertisement



    Looks like the BOLD doesn't have a true standby mode like the previous BB's.

    When I press the MUTE key the BOLD says "Entering Stanby Mode. Press the mute key again to exit standy mode"

    Now it's in a so called standby mode, if I press the keyboard nothing happens, however if I press the "Send Key", "Menu Key", "Trackball", "Escape Key" or "End/Power Key" the screen lights up and a pop up screen says "In standy mode. Press the Mute key to exit standby mode"

    The problem I see here is that if the BOLD is in my pocket the buttons above can accidently be pressed and the screen will continue to light up and have the pop up. This to me is wasting an already poor battery.

    Is anyone else experiencing this? Is there a fix or work around??
    Save a tree by using a BlackBerry!

  2. #2
    Karpfish24's Avatar
    Karpfish24 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    243fd52f
    Posts
    217
    I am seeing this too, however this is how my curve on 4.5 behaved. Before 4.5, the curve would go to sleep and no button press would wake it up.

  3. #3
    qbangringo's Avatar
    qbangringo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    302C0803
    Posts
    185
    Yup its in the new OS. I am not sure why. I have confirmed this since I sold 4 or 5 of them and went over all this with customers. Honestly unless your dying wait to get a BOLD! Price will drop and quality will be better!

  4. #4
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by qbangringo View Post
    Yup its in the new OS. I am not sure why. I have confirmed this since I sold 4 or 5 of them and went over all this with customers. Honestly unless your dying wait to get a BOLD! Price will drop and quality will be better!
    .
    I called AT&T aboit this yesterday & they said it's an issue they have no fix for. Just anothe reason I got rid of mine. I'm with you, know is no time to buy.

  5. #5
    walds11's Avatar
    walds11 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    518
    I keep my phone in a holster, so this should not be an issue for me.

  6. #6
    mjwood0's Avatar
    mjwood0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    907
    I believe they did this as too many people would hit the standby button and not be able to figure out how to exit the mode.

    They'd hit the send, end and trackball and finally pull the battery to get out of standby. So they made it so it tells you what to do. Annoying for those of us who have a clue, but they probably receive many less support calls!
    As always, just my opinion...
    mjwood0 (at) pinstack (.) com
    Remove PTT | OS Upgrade

  7. #7
    GregGebhardt's Avatar
    GregGebhardt no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    No Way
    Posts
    680
    Quote Originally Posted by archer6 View Post
    .
    I called AT&T aboit this yesterday & they said it's an issue they have no fix for. Just anothe reason I got rid of mine. I'm with you, know is no time to buy.
    LOL!
    Greg
    in Jax, FL

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •