Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 39

Do you have to have that 30 dollar package from ATT to use a blackberry ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    stanseagraves's Avatar
    stanseagraves no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2

    Question blackberry package from att

    Advertisement



    Do you have to have that 30 dollar package from ATT to use a blackberry 9700 my wife has an older 8310 and she does not have to have the dreaded blackberry package she is not going to use the blackberry email program if i buy her one from ebay and move the sim card over will they still charge me the 30 dollar blackberry package
    thanks for your help
    Stan

  2. #2
    Antgod's Avatar
    Antgod no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    2148A220
    Posts
    320
    No you don't have to have the package to use blackberry.

  3. #3
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    I read that they will detect that you are running a Blackberry and add the package on. I would call ATT to verify that.

  4. #4
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Quote Originally Posted by pdxmatts View Post
    I read that they will detect that you are running a Blackberry and add the package on. I would call ATT to verify that.
    I know this to be a fact. I gave my son my 9000 when I upgraded in Jan., he just had the $10 data on his MotoKarma. About 2-3 weeks later, he received a text from AT&T stating that his SIM had been detected using a Berry and he would now be charged the $30 data package. After Oct. 09, if you put your non-data SIM in a Berry, it registers not only with RIM, but also AT&T, so they will find you. My youngest daughter has an 8310 with no data, but its been in there for about a year, so we're good to go with hers.
    ​Galaxy S4 Red

  5. #5
    sooner's Avatar
    sooner no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1,092
    Yes they will! If you put in your sim into the BB, and log on to your account through ATT, you will see the picture of your BB next to your account number. They know.

    iLord is DEAD!


  6. #6
    drice30721's Avatar
    drice30721 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    20EF37F6
    Posts
    337
    Is that legal? Can you cancel the data package that ATT added to you account and still use the berry?

  7. #7
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Legal? probably. Ethical? absolutely not. AT&T at its finest. You cant cancel the data package and still use the berry. their argument is that youre still using data in some capacity, therefore they will/can charge you data. Its lame.
    ​Galaxy S4 Red

  8. #8
    GregGebhardt's Avatar
    GregGebhardt no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    No Way
    Posts
    680
    I do not think it is unfair. If you are using AT&T data you need to pay. If people would read the fine print they so eagerly sign they would see that legally AT&T can add a data package to your account.

    Not lame, it is just how it works. Everyone trying to get something for nothing! LOL!
    Greg
    in Jax, FL

  9. #9
    tippmann15's Avatar
    tippmann15 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    147
    Pretty sure OP said eBay purchase and not using Data. The only one getting something for nothing in this scenerio is AT&T, can't wait to leave this shady/unethical business.
    Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7D11 Safari/528.16

  10. #10
    snipes mcgee's Avatar
    snipes mcgee no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    555
    Quote Originally Posted by chokem View Post
    I know this to be a fact. I gave my son my 9000 when I upgraded in Jan., he just had the $10 data on his MotoKarma. About 2-3 weeks later, he received a text from AT&T stating that his SIM had been detected using a Berry and he would now be charged the $30 data package. After Oct. 09, if you put your non-data SIM in a Berry, it registers not only with RIM, but also AT&T, so they will find you. My youngest daughter has an 8310 with no data, but its been in there for about a year, so we're good to go with hers.
    I gave my mom my 9000 in November when I got my 9700, but she hadn't had a data plan at all, just a texting plan, and they haven't added a data package. Data is completely disabled on her phone, so there's no accidental internet access. But again, no added plan, so maybe I slipped under the radar or something.
    I have a BlackBerry and a WhiteApple. :)

  11. #11
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Quote Originally Posted by GregGebhardt View Post
    I do not think it is unfair. If you are using AT&T data you need to pay. If people would read the fine print they so eagerly sign they would see that legally AT&T can add a data package to your account.

    Not lame, it is just how it works. Everyone trying to get something for nothing! LOL!
    Please explain to me if you do not have a data plan, can only make calls and send texts, how you are using data? If youre SIM is not activated with BIS and ALL you want to do is use your Berry for texting and calling, how that differs from a "dumb phone"? Some people for whatever reason-financial, whatever, might want to use a Berry without a data plan. how is it fair that AT&T arbitrarily takes that choice away from them? That sounds pretty lame to me.
    ​Galaxy S4 Red

  12. #12
    tippmann15's Avatar
    tippmann15 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    147
    I wonder if this could be a free contract break for customers not satisfied with the tyrant that is AT&T, I'll have to find mine and reread.
    Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7D11 Safari/528.16

  13. #13
    snipes mcgee's Avatar
    snipes mcgee no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    555
    Quote Originally Posted by chokem View Post
    Please explain to me if you do not have a data plan, can only make calls and send texts, how you are using data? If youre SIM is not activated with BIS and ALL you want to do is use your Berry for texting and calling, how that differs from a "dumb phone"? Some people for whatever reason-financial, whatever, might want to use a Berry without a data plan. how is it fair that AT&T arbitrarily takes that choice away from them? That sounds pretty lame to me.
    Yea I agree. I think I'd be pretty pissed if they did that to my plan... my mom is using the phone for exactly that, just calls and texting.
    I have a BlackBerry and a WhiteApple. :)

  14. #14
    stanseagraves's Avatar
    stanseagraves no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2
    thanks ladies and gentlemen i appreciate your answers we like i said already have an 8310 that she is using now and has for some time just wanted to upgrade her to one of the new ones she only uses it for voice and text thanks for your help
    Stan

  15. #15
    pdxmatts's Avatar
    pdxmatts no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,702
    I know for a fact that TMO does not add the data plan on. I have two old Pearls on our plan for the kids that are not on a data plan.
    ..
    Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7D11 Safari/528.16

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •