Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

I have searched the forums and only see how to install maps on OS 4.5...anyone ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573

    BlackBerry Maps on a 9700 AT&T??

    Advertisement



    I have searched the forums and only see how to install maps on OS 4.5...anyone know how to install maps on OS 5.0?

  2. #2
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    never mind...just found my answer. BB maps is only available on OS 4.1 and 4.2 ??? you gotta be kidding me!

  3. #3
    RoboticGolem's Avatar
    RoboticGolem no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    24ab431b
    Posts
    128
    I have it on my 5.0 curve 8900. I don't see why it isn't standard. Unless its an att&t thing. What happens when you go to http://www.blackberry.com/maps ?

  4. #4
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    I can download the maps but when I try to run the application, I get an error...Uncaught exemption, cannot run internal application. It is AT&T, they want you to purchase their app called Telnav that uses BB maps but it costs $10 a month. I just went back to Google maps...it's free. I found all this out after i posted the thread...thanks anyway.

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Ray, try this launcher app: http://www.gln.bz/ads.nsf/bbmapslaunch.jad

  6. #6
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    Thanks Roger, but I did try the launcher and when I try to launch BB Maps I get the old "Uncaught exemption, cannot open internal application" error.

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Hm. I did the same thing on my 9700 with AT&T and was able to run maps. Maybe try deleting the app, then reinstalling with Desktop Manager.

  8. #8
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I think BB Maps actually came installed on my 9700.

  9. #9
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    ok, I'll try everything again...made the 3rd time is a charm...

  10. #10
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    Hey Roger, I just noticed that you are using a 9800...how do you like it? I'm do for an upgrade and was waiting to here some reliable reviews...

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Ray, go here to read thbassman's review. I agree with pretty much everything he wrote.

  12. #12
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    This is really strange...I have tried everything to get BB maps on my 9700, still no joy! This is the error that I receive when I try to launch BBmaps..."Uncaught exemption, could not start internal application" I have deleted and reinstall with BB swiss army knife, just can't seem to get it to work. ???? any suggestions?

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    What about reloading or upgrading the OS? Make sure the box for Maps is checked in the application list.

    I had it running on my 9700, so I know it'll work.

  14. #14
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    Well as for upgrading the OS, I'm running .862...guess I could reload it. I'll give it a try and let you know what I find...Thanks.

  15. #15
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573
    Hmmm, Roger you may have the answer. I just checked the BBmaps box and it's now installing it. I did this before so I'm hopeful that this time it'll work.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •