Results 1 to 12 of 12

Has anyone gotten BB Maps to work on their Bold? I followed the advice and ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    ghettomedic's Avatar
    ghettomedic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    28028AA4
    Posts
    108

    Blackberry Maps

    Advertisement



    Has anyone gotten BB Maps to work on their Bold?

    I followed the advice and installed BB Maps 1.2 via DM 4.6.

    It successfully installed and then rebooted. Then I checked the service books and there is a service book for BB Maps.

    But when I click on it, I get a "net.rim.device.apps.api.quickcontact.quickcontacti cons is missing" error.

    I have unistalled and reinstalled twice.

    I am running .210.

    Thanks for your help in advance.


    Jim
    _______
    Jim Girvin
    CC/NREMT-Paramedic
    EMT-Tactical

    flight.medic.752@gmail.com
    PIN: 28028AA4

  2. #2
    DjSmooth's Avatar
    DjSmooth no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,080
    I am running 210 as well and yes I have / had BB Maps to work on my Boldberry without problems but know I finally got the word from Mapquest and that is my primary Nav prog now...

  3. #3
    ghettomedic's Avatar
    ghettomedic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    28028AA4
    Posts
    108
    How did you get it to work?

    Is Mapquest GPS free?
    _______
    Jim Girvin
    CC/NREMT-Paramedic
    EMT-Tactical

    flight.medic.752@gmail.com
    PIN: 28028AA4

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Apple
    Posts
    1,749
    I have mine working. Running .210, ice noticed that when I have the att theme I don't have the icon for BB maps. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    applejosh's Avatar
    applejosh no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    346
    BB Maps works on my Bold (at least the last time I checked). I just installed the version that comes bundled with the OS (.210 in my case). I didn't download / install anything separately.

    Edit: Mapquest looks like it's here:
    http://www.mapquest.com/maps-mobile

    I personally use Google Maps more than the others. Works well for me.
    Last edited by applejosh; 01-23-2009 at 02:46 PM.
    applejosh
    iPhone 4 (AT&T)
    OS 4.3

  6. #6
    ghettomedic's Avatar
    ghettomedic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    28028AA4
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by BHP77 View Post
    I have mine working. Running .210, ice noticed that when I have the att theme I don't have the icon for BB maps. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I have the icon. I am getting an "api.quickcontact" error when I try to open the program up.


    Jim
    _______
    Jim Girvin
    CC/NREMT-Paramedic
    EMT-Tactical

    flight.medic.752@gmail.com
    PIN: 28028AA4

  7. #7
    ieeegeek's Avatar
    ieeegeek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    23f2a6fe
    Posts
    2

    BB Maps - Theme Issue?

    Hey, I had the same problem with my AT&T Bold. After downloading BB maps won’t display an icon. However, I when I switched to the Precision Silver theme (not the default Precision AT&T) the icon displayed and I was able to use the application. If I switch back to the default theme the icon disappears again.
    Last edited by jblackfish; 01-23-2009 at 03:10 PM. Reason: font size

  8. #8
    applejosh's Avatar
    applejosh no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    346
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettomedic View Post
    I have the icon. I am getting an "api.quickcontact" error when I try to open the program up.


    Jim
    Well, the only suggestions I have are to check the application permissions for BB Maps. If that doesn't pan out, I would suggest removing it and re-loading the OS with the Blackberry Maps option that comes with the OS file (and not with anything that was downloaded separately). Maybe someone else has a less involved method, but this is all I can think of at the moment.
    applejosh
    iPhone 4 (AT&T)
    OS 4.3

  9. #9
    ghettomedic's Avatar
    ghettomedic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    28028AA4
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by applejosh View Post
    Well, the only suggestions I have are to check the application permissions for BB Maps. If that doesn't pan out, I would suggest removing it and re-loading the OS with the Blackberry Maps option that comes with the OS file (and not with anything that was downloaded separately). Maybe someone else has a less involved method, but this is all I can think of at the moment.
    Some more info. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling BB Maps. I get. 200 App error and the Bold reboots itself before it finishes loading all the .cod files.

    I guess I'm somewhat amiss...I thought .210 had BB Maps native.

    The file I downloaded from blackberry.com was a Zip file with the alx file and a folder named java. It is the 1.2 version of BB Maps.

  10. #10
    abcomputin's Avatar
    abcomputin no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    108
    The BB Maps app that works on my bold shows a version of 4.6.0, not even close to 1.2.

  11. #11
    applejosh's Avatar
    applejosh no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    346
    My download of .210 had it. I didn't touch the separate download from RIM as I thought I read it was only for an older version. I'd delete the folder you have the extracted files in, remove it from the device, and see if it shows up in the "update" list in BlackBerry desktop manager then.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    ghettomedic's Avatar
    ghettomedic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    28028AA4
    Posts
    108
    I'm a kludge.

    I just updated to .216 and went into advance and selected BB Maps.

    It all works now.

    I am still amazed at the ease of updating firmware.

    When I was using a Pocket PC it took 2-3 hours to manually load and sign into and register all my 3rd party apps.

    This is sweet.

    Thanks for all your replies.

    Jim
    _______
    Jim Girvin
    CC/NREMT-Paramedic
    EMT-Tactical

    flight.medic.752@gmail.com
    PIN: 28028AA4

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •