Results 1 to 14 of 14

Hello, I am running the BB Desktop Manager version 4.7. When I go into the ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    artjr's Avatar
    artjr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    31006C6F
    Posts
    83

    Blackberry Desktop Manager Problem

    Advertisement



    Hello,
    I am running the BB Desktop Manager version 4.7. When I go into the Media section and select Blackberry Media Sync, Its telling me to "The Blackberry Media Sync installation failed to initalize. Please run the Blackberry Desktop Manager with administrative privileges and try again". Now everything else works great with Desktop Manager, only the Media Sync is giving me a problem. What must I do to run Media Sync so I can Sync my music? I am running Windows Vista Ultimate.

    Thank You
    Art
    Two things are infinite: the Universe and Human stupidity; and I am not sure about the former.
    A. Einstein
    BlackBerry PIN# 24A12B7D

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Art,

    Have you downloaded Media Sync? I believe that is a separate download and doesn't come with the Desktop Manager installation. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I had already downloaded Media Sync awhile ago prior to downloading 4.7.

    Roger

  3. #3
    artjr's Avatar
    artjr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    31006C6F
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Art,

    Have you downloaded Media Sync? I believe that is a separate download and doesn't come with the Desktop Manager installation. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I had already downloaded Media Sync awhile ago prior to downloading 4.7.

    Roger
    Where can I download Media Sync?
    Two things are infinite: the Universe and Human stupidity; and I am not sure about the former.
    A. Einstein
    BlackBerry PIN# 24A12B7D

  4. #4
    artjr's Avatar
    artjr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    31006C6F
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Art,

    Have you downloaded Media Sync? I believe that is a separate download and doesn't come with the Desktop Manager installation. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I had already downloaded Media Sync awhile ago prior to downloading 4.7.

    Roger
    Hi again Roger,
    I just went to the Blackberry site and it seems I do need this Media Sync. I am downloading it now. Hope it works!

    Thank You!!!

    Art
    Two things are infinite: the Universe and Human stupidity; and I am not sure about the former.
    A. Einstein
    BlackBerry PIN# 24A12B7D

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Hey Art! Glad you found it. It will work. I just launched it from DM 4.7 myself!

  6. #6
    artjr's Avatar
    artjr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    31006C6F
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Hey Art! Glad you found it. It will work. I just launched it from DM 4.7 myself!
    Yes it works fine! Thanks again!!
    Two things are infinite: the Universe and Human stupidity; and I am not sure about the former.
    A. Einstein
    BlackBerry PIN# 24A12B7D

  7. #7
    monjucreil's Avatar
    monjucreil no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    same issue

    I have the same issue "setup detected that a windows system reboot is necessary before starting the Blackberry Media sync installation"

    Im running Vista and DM4.7

    tried:
    1) installation of media sync from DM4.6
    2) installation of media sync from DM4.7
    3) change UAC
    ...
    running out of idea.

  8. #8
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Media Sync is a completely separate download from Desktop Manager. If you're trying to launch Media Sync from within Desktop Manager it won't work until you've downloaded and installed Media Sync from here.

  9. #9
    monjucreil's Avatar
    monjucreil no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3
    Sorry,

    I've downloaded and tried to installed:
    Name:BlackBerry Media SyncFile Name:BlackBerryMediaSync.exeDownload Size:31.363 MbLanguage:EnglishPublished Date:07/23/2008

    Same issue "setup detected that a windows system reboot is necessary before starting the Blackberry Media sync installation"

  10. #10
    Nicholaus's Avatar
    Nicholaus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    263
    Quote Originally Posted by monjucreil View Post
    Sorry,

    I've downloaded and tried to installed:
    Name:BlackBerry Media SyncFile Name:BlackBerryMediaSync.exeDownload Size:31.363 MbLanguage:EnglishPublished Date:07/23/2008

    Same issue "setup detected that a windows system reboot is necessary before starting the Blackberry Media sync installation"
    How many times have you rebooted your machine?

  11. #11
    monjucreil's Avatar
    monjucreil no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3
    Nicholaus,

    Rebooted 3 or 4 times already.
    Ive tried also to boot in Safe mode... same thing.

    tx

  12. #12
    Nicholaus's Avatar
    Nicholaus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    263
    Quote Originally Posted by monjucreil View Post
    Nicholaus,

    Rebooted 3 or 4 times already.
    Ive tried also to boot in Safe mode... same thing.

    tx
    Hmm, I don't know what the problem could be, but I would try reinstalling media sync.

    Edit: I just saw that you've tried downloading different media syncs, has one ever worked for you?
    Last edited by Nicholaus; 11-20-2008 at 11:53 PM.

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    monjucreil,

    You issue is beyond my expertise as it sounds like it has something to do with Windows registries. Someone more conversant in that environment will have to offer their services here.

    Are you able to download and install any other type of software?

    Roger

  14. #14
    jdreif's Avatar
    jdreif no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1

    Solution can be found here

    Hi,

    I had the same problem, the solution can be found by following the instructions at blackberryforums DOT pinstack DOT com/f59/blackberry_media_sync-93880/

    One slight variation that I found was you might have those keys directly under the Session Manager object as well, you would need to delete that key also.

    John

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •