Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Hi all Took delivery of my new bold today and its fab, only problem is ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    robcoh's Avatar
    robcoh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15

    blackberry Bold + maps

    Advertisement



    Hi all

    Took delivery of my new bold today and its fab, only problem is I can't find the maps application which I frequently used on my 8820. In advanced options/service books maps is there, but there is no icon anywhere, in any folder.

    Tried to download it ota and device apparently is not supported it does not meet the minimum reqs.

    I'm on orange uk, and bb maps worked fine on my 8820.

    Any help please

    Thanks

    Rob

  2. #2
    waddeng's Avatar
    waddeng no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    96
    Really?

    My maps Icon was on my home screen (looks like a compass). I've used it quite often. Have you tried a different theme?

  3. #3
    darryl71's Avatar
    darryl71 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    716
    is it perhaps hidden?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    resend service books that what I had to do to make it show

  5. #5
    robcoh's Avatar
    robcoh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15
    resend service books from where, orange.blackberry.co.uk?

    Its really odd, read about it on other forums and they suggested installing another operators firmware, although im really not keen on that idea.

    Tried all of the above, definately not hidden nor theme problem!

    cheers for trying atleast

    rob

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    resend the service books from your BIS website.
    as far as installing another operator's firmware it wouldnt make a difference AFAIK

  7. #7
    robcoh's Avatar
    robcoh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by ranxoren View Post
    resend the service books from your BIS website.
    Tried That with no luck, even did a hard reset!

    This is really bugging me, im running 4.6.0.92 if that helps and i cant see any orange firmware for the bold on the blackberry website, so you know of any carriers that have the bold software online?

    rob

  8. #8
    jscottbarnes's Avatar
    jscottbarnes no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    No-More
    Posts
    1,273
    Hmmm - really odd, simple ? here, but are you sure you're not just overlooking the new icon (as noted above - it looks like a compass)


    ------------
    ~ jscott
    iPhone 3G & BOLD



  9. #9
    michaelk's Avatar
    michaelk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    47
    I'd say just go with the google maps option instead but it seems not to work on my bold...
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    robcoh's Avatar
    robcoh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15
    Yeah, i have seen the new icon, i downloaded amAZE which seems ok, just seems crazy that its on their and something is blocking the icon!

    Could be a ploy by Orange, but bb Maps worked fine on my old 8820, which i still have, so may just use that for nav until someone works out a solution.

  11. #11
    sykesy69's Avatar
    sykesy69 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5
    I also have an Orange Bold...

    Can confirm there is no Icon...

    There are definitely a few other problems with it as well...

  12. #12
    choughton's Avatar
    choughton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2554172A
    Posts
    71
    Hi,
    I've got the exact same set up as you and have the identical problem. I've downloaded google maps and it works well and the gps system works really well with it.
    Dead frustrating thought, especially as it is in the app list. Let me know if you find a way to sort it!
    Chris

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Last edited by choughton; 08-29-2008 at 06:13 PM.

  13. #13
    supaman's Avatar
    supaman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    38

    Maps Icon Fix

    The reason your maps icon dissappears after doing a restore is that the old 4.2 handheld code you were running didnt have maps service books so when you restored it also wiped out the maps service books all you have to do on your device is go to options advanced options host routing table and register on one of the networks by highlighting pressing menu and then 'register now' and that icon should come back guarantee no need for OS reload or all this other stuff.

  14. #14
    robcoh's Avatar
    robcoh no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15
    Is there any inparticular? And do I need to restart afterwards, I've done it and just get a message confirming that the device has been activated. This is really annoying me but I feel we could be getting near a solution!

    Rob
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    supaman's Avatar
    supaman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by robcoh View Post
    Is there any inparticular? And do I need to restart afterwards, I've done it and just get a message confirming that the device has been activated. This is really annoying me but I feel we could be getting near a solution!

    Rob
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Usually choose the bolded one or the first entry in host routing table to see if the maps are actually back check under options advanced options maps you should see the maps service book there thanks!.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •