Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Ooops, something gone crazy. Entered the routine once a week backup of my Bold 9000 ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886

    Backup - Database Error

    Advertisement



    Ooops, something gone crazy.
    Entered the routine once a week backup of my Bold 9000 and - "Error Backing Up database". What's happening folks ? Welcome suggestions -It's a Bold 9000 Platform .155.

  2. #2
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Clear your Browser cache. That should take care of it.

  3. #3
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886
    Ok did that...same problem MotoUp... something else ...

  4. #4
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Have you rebooted both the PC and Bold?

  5. #5
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886
    Something (maybe installation and uninstall of Themes did it)... I hope I don't have to do a full reset. Don't have a back up . Oi _ I just noticed it now: it stops after backing up calendar database. Is this a clue ?

  6. #6
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886
    Will try a battery pull and PC restart...

  7. #7
    HeyMrRadio's Avatar
    HeyMrRadio no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,290
    Clear browser cache, run memory cleaner, and perform ALT+LGLG and clear the logs out.

  8. #8
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886
    Nope - Cleared browser again, ram memory cleaner and ALT+LGLG and behold _ backup;same error. I am going to re-install 4.6 Core Application see if that helps.

  9. #9
    lvmonkey's Avatar
    lvmonkey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    29
    This has worked for me each time when i get the same error when backing up:

    -Watch the status of the backup (the status bar)
    -Take note of what is being backed up at that very moment
    -Take note of which item is being backed up right when you got the database error message

    In my case, it's always been a problem with my Tasks. I reviewed which tasks are in progress, waiting, etc. I make sure any pending Tasks are either completed or deleted.

    I would try the backup again and it would properly complete the backups thereafter. Also make sure your device is not set to be used as a backup hard drive.

    Hope this helps.

  10. #10
    rpol8052's Avatar
    rpol8052 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me!
    Posts
    561
    Quote Originally Posted by lvmonkey View Post
    This has worked for me each time when i get the same error when backing up:

    -Watch the status of the backup (the status bar)
    -Take note of what is being backed up at that very moment
    -Take note of which item is being backed up right when you got the database error message

    In my case, it's always been a problem with my Tasks. I reviewed which tasks are in progress, waiting, etc. I make sure any pending Tasks are either completed or deleted.

    I would try the backup again and it would properly complete the backups thereafter. Also make sure your device is not set to be used as a backup hard drive.

    Hope this helps.
    This is the right way of doing it....thats what I had to do with mine when i switched to the storm, mine was multiple things, I would clear one and then another part of the backup was corrupted it took me a good 10mins to finish

  11. #11
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886
    Well Thanks guys I will try all .... something will work. If not I will restore the Bold to original settings. Will let you all know.

  12. #12
    timn2bama's Avatar
    timn2bama no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    51
    When I run memory cleaner in the background I get backup errors. I just don't use it anymore. So if you have it on I would turn it off before backup.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  13. #13
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Before you decide to do a full clean sweep, consider another option...

    Go into the advanced backup and don't backup the databases that are causing the error... This way, worst case, you'll atleast have everything else that was backing just fine...

    You have have to do the regular backup once to see where it gets stuck and then unseleft that database from your manual backup and then wait to see if it gets stuck somewhere else, repeating 3 or 4 times till all problem databases are unchecked... Giving you a salvage operation...

    Good luck...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  14. #14
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886
    Yes tried it and advanced somewhat - I'm taking your advice I now have to get past "key stores", thats where it's getting stuck now. Since its past midnight here, and work is just now at 07H, I am leaving this till tomorrow... will keep you posted. Thanks for all the advice and help - you guys are all tremendous...

  15. #15
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Quote Originally Posted by delfim View Post
    Yes tried it and advanced somewhat - I'm taking your advice I now have to get past "key stores", thats where it's getting stuck now. Since its past midnight here, and work is just now at 07H, I am leaving this till tomorrow... will keep you posted. Thanks for all the advice and help - you guys are all tremendous...
    Always here to help... What part of the world are you in?

    Keep us posted with your success n goodnight...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •