Results 1 to 15 of 15

Can't wait til Nov 4th! so i'm trying to look ahead... What are my options ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    Skier87's Avatar
    Skier87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    188

    Arrow AT&T Bold GPS

    Advertisement



    Can't wait til Nov 4th! so i'm trying to look ahead...

    What are my options for using the GPS on the Bold? I'm not planning on buying a GPS app or paying monthly for anything like TeleNav, so I guess I am looking for free options only.

    I am pretty concerned about BlackBerry Maps, as I have heard it now requires a service book. The new version seems pretty nice from what I have seen. Will AT&T provide this service book? If not, any way to get it still?

    What about other mapping applications (namely turn by turn)?... I have used amAze and Nav4All before on a Curve and 8820, and they were just OK. Do they work any better on the Bold? Anyone know any other options?

    GoogleMaps seems to have been running a little slow for me on my Pearl... any reports on its performance on the Bold?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ccostel's Avatar
    ccostel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    132
    Is the GPS disabled where you have to use TeleNav? ATT has done that on other phones.

  3. #3
    Skier87's Avatar
    Skier87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    188
    As far as I know it's not disabled, but they might have done a better job at blocking BBMaps

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    AT&T hasn't disabled GPS.. Quit the crack.

  5. #5
    drdoom23's Avatar
    drdoom23 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    828
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~att disable GPS ha what do they look lik vzw lol I'm jp ppl

  6. #6
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Good one Diddy

  7. #7
    ccostel's Avatar
    ccostel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    132
    I hope you are right RSC and they haven't tampered with it. I have a coworker with an 8800 that has to use a gps puck for it to work. It wasn't crack, just a question.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Haha thats funny cause I carry both the 8800 and the 8820 and both work with any gps app I install on it.

    Nav4All, AmazeGPS, Google Maps

    He should come to the stacks to resolve his issue.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Quote Originally Posted by drdoom23 View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~att disable GPS ha what do they look lik vzw lol I'm jp ppl
    Exactly!!

  10. #10
    ccostel's Avatar
    ccostel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    132
    I will refer him to here.

    Thanks for the info.

  11. #11
    Skier87's Avatar
    Skier87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    188
    @ccostel
    is he on BES?... maybe its blocked administratively...

    I know GPS is not disabled, but I was leaning more towards looking at my options for GPS progs and the whole BBMaps situtation... also GoogleMaps performance on the Bold cause its been slow on my Pearl lately.

  12. #12
    mac14x's Avatar
    mac14x no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    217a1629
    Posts
    731
    Im on att with bold and any GPS app works, I love Att Nav the most (got only the trial)
    ~90 people get the swine flu and everyone is wearing face masks. Millions of people have AIDS but no one wears condoms...



  13. #13
    ccostel's Avatar
    ccostel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    132
    Not on BES, though it is a company phone. It has been that way since he got the phone. I think he uses BBMaps. He hasn't changed the OS and probably won't.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    3,806
    yeah the Telenav Navigator is usually the best thing around altho its not free.

  15. #15
    CharlieV's Avatar
    CharlieV no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9
    I have an AT&T Bold and GPS works in all applications. It is, however, much slower to acquire a signal than my 8800.
    ____________________________
    Charlie V
    23FA68FC

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •