Results 1 to 12 of 12

My blackberry applications can't connect to the internet. I have a blackberry 9700 and a ... BlackBerry Bold forum

  1. #1
    Rojorab2's Avatar
    Rojorab2 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4

    Question Applications not connecting to internet

    Advertisement



    My blackberry applications can't connect to the internet.

    I have a blackberry 9700 and a data plan.
    My browser works.

    i have tryed reloading os, battery pulls, registering to network, resending service books.

    i also called t-mobile and they sent me a new phone because none of their people could help me. I am still having the same problems with new phone

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Describe what application(s), what you're doing and what response(s) you're getting. You will probably have to be specific about at least ONE application and maybe we can solve the problem for this. Just pick an application and give us the details and let's see where that takes us.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    Rojorab2's Avatar
    Rojorab2 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Google Talk:
    "service not enabled for this handheld"

    Facebook Application:
    "Could not connect because a data service is not available. Please try again later. If this continues, contact your service provider for support."

    Blackberry app world:
    "Blackberry app world cannot connect to blackberry app world server"

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by Rojorab2 View Post
    Google Talk:
    "service not enabled for this handheld"

    Facebook Application:
    "Could not connect because a data service is not available. Please try again later. If this continues, contact your service provider for support."

    Blackberry app world:
    "Blackberry app world cannot connect to blackberry app world server"
    You're phone works though, right? Under options:Mobile Network you DO have "Data Services" turned on, right? Just making sure.
    ...and you DO have a data plan, right?
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    Rojorab2's Avatar
    Rojorab2 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Yes my data services are turned on and i have t-mobiles unlimited blackberry web plan

  6. #6
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    It really DOES sound like you have a carrier issue with T-mobile. Anyone else have an idea?

    Have you called them and asked for a Blackberry expert. I haven't used T-Mobile service in a long time but all carriers have "experts" if you can get past the 1st or 2nd line of defense. I'd try them again and don't take no for an answer. Keep asking for either a "Blackberry expert" or their supervisor and be nice. It'll take time but you're paying for a service and they need to provide it. Remember to be nice and don't lose your cool. Good luck!
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737
    First thing to do is connect to the internet through wi-fi. If you don't have a wireless router, go to a local restaurant or hotel where there's "free wi-fi". Try running these aps with that connection, rather than the data plan you have at Tmo. If they work there, it's a problem with T-Mobile: If they still don't work, it's your device. If you need help connecting to wifi, give us a holler.

    This will give us a place to start.

  8. #8
    Rojorab2's Avatar
    Rojorab2 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    i tryed connecting the apps through wifi. Only blackberry app world works. my other applications still won't connect

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by Rojorab2 View Post
    i tryed connecting the apps through wifi. Only blackberry app world works. my other applications still won't connect
    Then I'm thinking it's an issue with settings on your device. First, go to Options>Advanced Options>Browser>and make sure "Hotspot Browser" is selected as default on the "Default browser configuration". Then go to Options>Mobile Network and make sure Data Services is set to On. Thirdly, Options>Applications, then as soon as the application list loads, check that each one under their "Edit Permissions" is set to "Connections: Custom", "Interactions: Custom," and "User Data: Allow". The only exception to this is on my Google ap it is set "Connections: Allow". Give that a shot, see if it works, and if not post back and we'll go further . . . .Hope we're helping!

  10. #10
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Stone View Post
    Then I'm thinking it's an issue with settings on your device. First, go to Options>Advanced Options>Browser>and make sure "Hotspot Browser" is selected as default on the "Default browser configuration". Then go to Options>Mobile Network and make sure Data Services is set to On. Thirdly, Options>Applications, then as soon as the application list loads, check that each one under their "Edit Permissions" is set to "Connections: Custom", "Interactions: Custom," and "User Data: Allow". The only exception to this is on my Google ap it is set "Connections: Allow". Give that a shot, see if it works, and if not post back and we'll go further . . . .Hope we're helping!

    Correction.
    "First, go to Options>Advanced Options>Browser>and make sure "Hotspot Browser" is selected as default on the "Default browser configuration"."

    You do not want to use Hotspot browser if you have a data plan. The correct setting should be Internet Browser.

    Hotspot browser setting is used for wifi only user.
    Internet Browser setting allows use between Data and Wifi
    Blackberry Browser setting is for Data only I believe (correct me if I'm wrong)
    Web2Go setting is the old WAP style
    Looking for Wallpapers or Icons for making themes? I can help!

    Truth + Clarity = Power

    If you are going to take the time to respond... take the time to actually understand that to which you are responding.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737
    I stand corrected - on my device I don't have a data plan, and the only two choices available are Hotspot browser and Web2Go. Perhaps with a data plan, more options appear. However, all my aps (FB, YouTube, Google, BlackBerry Ap World etc.) work with Hotspot set as default

  12. #12
    jeffallen8's Avatar
    jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    Posts
    1,734
    Correct Mark. More options do appear as ther service books for a data plan arrive on your device.
    Looking for Wallpapers or Icons for making themes? I can help!

    Truth + Clarity = Power

    If you are going to take the time to respond... take the time to actually understand that to which you are responding.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •